Home » shame » We Are Saints Who Sin

We Are Saints Who Sin

Understanding our identity as Christians is so important to living in grace. I’ve mentioned before that we are saints who sin. What do I mean by that? It means we are justified. Now we are invited to receive grace and live in trust.

I’ve learned so much about the importance of trust. I have learned about the grace that comes from trusting others in who they are. I have learned about the grace that comes from trusting others with who I am. Not the person that I intend to be, always feeling great and never having a problem or a bad day, but the real person, the person I truly am.

This has been a lesson in freedom! It’s very freeing to be able to say to people, “This is who I am.” It has allowed me to mess up and not feel ashamed. I don’t live in shame! This is huge! I live in trust.

I am not perfect. I fail. I mess up. I have bad days. I cuss every now and then. Sometimes I get irritable. Sometimes I get frustrated. But I trust my wife, my close friends, and my children to say, “I don’t think of you differently. I know you messed up. It happens. It doesn’t change my opinion of you. I love you.” I receive their grace, and it sanctifies me.

Jesus is the reason I can trust people with my imperfect self. Jesus says, “I died for you. I took all of that shame. Then I resurrected.” Now that He has done all that, the same Spirit that lived in Him lives in me. Now, because of Jesus’ death and resurrection, I am a righteous man. I am holy as Jesus is holy. I am free!

There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh, that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. (New King James Version Rom. 8:1-4)

This is worth repeating. There is no condemnation! With this understanding, we can look at each other in trust. Through the sacrifice that Jesus made for us, we are made righteous and holy. Because of what Jesus did, God sees us as righteous and holy.

We can do this for each other. We have to! This is what allows us to be saints that sin.

Saints that sin, not sinners that have been saved. The two perspectives are completely different. When you live Biblically in who you are, then you’ll understand. God looks at you and He doesn’t see a sinner. He sees His precious child who is righteous and holy.

You don’t need to hide in your shame, because there is no shame. You are free. You have the freedom to say, “This is who I am,” and do you know what will happen? You will receive grace!

When shame starts causing you trouble, banish it. Say, “No, I am righteous.” You will be speaking the truth.

I have more to say on this next time. See you Saturday.

Leave a Reply

