Home » Judgment » Comfortable in the World

Comfortable in the World

Have you heard comments like these?

“You Christian people think you’re better than us. Christians judge everything everybody does.”

“It’s the Christians who are always saying, ‘Oh my gosh, you’re doing this, you’re bad.’”

People who don’t even know me will look at me and say, “Don’t you make mistakes? Don’t you have flaws?”

Well, of course I do!

Obviously somebody along the way has told these people that if they become Christian, then they’ll be perfect in everything they do. Someone has told them that if they become Christian, then they’ll never make another mistake, and they’ll be better than all the non-Christians who do make mistakes.

I pity the people who think that way. As followers of Jesus, we’ve somehow convinced ourselves that we are better than other people in our flesh. That’s why we judge. That’s why we start saying things like, “Man, I don’t think you should be drinking. You shouldn’t have beer. You shouldn’t even have wine.” Or we say, “You know what? I heard what came out of your mouth the other day. You cussed the other day. That’s really not good. The Bible says no unhealthy thing should come out of your mouth.”

Well, you know what? Whether I cuss in anger or I say “Shoot!” in anger, it’s the same thing. Some believers think the sin lies in the actual word, but it doesn’t. It’s the emotion behind the word that is the sin. I was angry. That was my sin. Yet somehow we think we’re better than others because we say “Shoot” instead of its coarser cousin.

I hang out with believers that are really comfortable in the world. They’re totally comfortable hanging out with everybody. They can hang out with people that aren’t Christian and feel totally fine around them. They’re comfortable because they aren’t judging everything people do or judging every motive.

The believers that have problems with judging are the ones that tell me, “Oh, you’re not supposed to hang out with outsiders, because they probably don’t live like you, and they probably don’t think like you.” They’ll say, “I don’t want to hang out with outsiders or non-believers, because they’re not good to be around. It’s evil.” I hear that and I say, then what was Jesus doing? That’s all he hung out with!

Christians have just got to quit judging. We have to stop. As long as we are judging, we will never be comfortable in the world. People in the faith will always have outsiders in their lives, and we can’t live comfortably with them if we’re always judging.

You know what else? When we’re judging them, we can’t witness to them.

Worst of all, we certainly can’t love them.

See you Wednesday.

2 thoughts on “Comfortable in the World

  1. Great post! As Christian Jesus said we will be Judged and hated because people hated Jesus , but he said we will be blessed that much more. He said love and pray for them 🙏🏼🙌🏼 Pray that they can come to know God and his son 🙏🏼

  2. Thanks Jeremy! I loved this post. I have always felt that it isn’t my place to judge.. whatever a person chooses is of their own free will. Including loving Jesus. Our day of judgment will come, and it will be before Him. 💜

Leave a Reply

