Home » Family » Love Without Fear

Love Without Fear

The ancient Israelites loved God. All you have to do is read the scriptures. Check out the psalms! The love is obvious. God loved them and they loved God.

We still treasure the Old Testament. It’s the holy word of God! That’s why it’s in the Holy Bible.

We also read in the Old Testament about all the rules the ancient Israelites had to keep. We can see that they had to make sacrifices to atone for the times they fell short or messed up. When there are a lot of rules, and a lot of people judging you, it can make you fearful. It can even make you start to fear God, no matter how much you love Him.

That’s why I think God said, “This has to change. I’m going to change my relationship with my beloved children. I’m going to make a new covenant with them. I will send my Son to pay for every transgression of every rule, ever. Then my children will be free to love me out of respect and gratitude. There will be no more  fear.”

That’s why my love for God is respectful and reverential. I love Him because of what He did for me, but I am not afraid of Him. I know I am forgiven.

That’s the change. That’s the New Covenant. Our love has changed, so for the New Covenant Christian, the way we do things has also changed.

We see an example of this in the Book of Acts. There was a dispute about circumcision. Peter was preaching in favor of requiring new male converts to be circumcised, and Paul emphatically disagreed, so they went to the council for a decision. The council consulted and then said, “It seems good to us, and it seems good to the Holy Spirit, that it does not matter what you do to your flesh. It’s about the heart.”

This is the New Covenant Christian. We don’t consult a list of rules. We go to the Holy Spirit and then trust the wisdom we receive.

This is what I’m trying to accomplish with my own children. I don’t want fear of me to get mixed in with their love. I don’t want them to fear my anger, or fear reprisals when they mess up. When they make a mistake, I don’t want their first thought to be, “My dad’s going to be so mad at me.”

That’s not at all how I want my children to look at me. That’s why I tell them, “When you mess up, I’m going to be embarrassed on your behalf. I’m going to take that on me so you won’t have to. You should never have to fear me, because I love you. And I’m hoping you’re going to learn from your mistake. Maybe you’ll do things a little bit differently next time. Maybe you’ll see what I do, and you’ll be inspired to do better.”

When they see me take their shame and embarrassment for them, hopefully they’ll respect me for it. I think they will. I think they’ll say, “That’s my dad. He protects me because he loves me.” They’ll respond to me with love because of what I do for them, just as I love God because of what He did for me. This kind of love changes everybody, because this is the love that changes hearts.

See you Saturday.

Leave a Reply

