Home » Family » Life in Trust

Life in Trust

There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh, that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. Romans 8:1-4

Thanks to my study time with the Truefaced ministry, I’ve learned so much about trust. Not only have I learned about the grace that comes from trusting others in who they are, I’ve learned about the grace that comes from trusting others with who I am. Not the person that I intend to be, always feeling great and never having a problem or a bad day. No, I’m talking about trusting others with the real, imperfect person that I actually am. The real me.

This has been a lesson in freedom! It’s very freeing to be able to be my true self, knowing that there is now no condemnation. Now I can mess up and not feel ashamed. Imagine: I don’t live in shame now. I live in trust. I mess up! And I live in trust.

Here’s what it’s like. In my close relationships, I say, “I’m going to trust you. I’m going to tell you right now, I am not perfect. I am a Christian man who will fail. I will mess up. I will have a bad day. Maybe I will cuss every now and then. I might snap at somebody, or show some frustration.”

Then, when that bad day comes around, or I show some frustration, my family and friends will say, “I know. I don’t think of you differently. I know you messed up. It happens. But it doesn’t change my opinion of you. I love you.”

That’s what trust brings to relationships.

Jesus is the reason that I can trust people with my true, imperfect self. Jesus says, “I died for you. I took all of that shame and I died. I did it for you. And then, I resurrected.” The Bible says that because of Jesus’s death and resurrection, we are made holy and righteous. It also says that the same Spirit that lived in Jesus now lives in us. In His Spirit, we are free!

With this understanding, my wife and I can look to each other in trust. She looks at me and I look at her, and we see each other just as God sees us: righteous and holy. It’s the same with my close friends. It’s the same with my children.

I’m imperfect. I mess up. But there is now no condemnation! In trust with God and my loved ones, I am allowed to be a saint that sins. Not a sinner that is saved, but a saint that sins. The two perspectives are completely different. When you live biblically in your identity as God’s very own creation, His very own precious child, then you understand how God sees you. He looks at you and sees you just as He made you. Righteous and holy!

See you Friday.

One thought on “Life in Trust

Leave a Reply

