Home » Faith » When Things Don’t Go Your Way

When Things Don’t Go Your Way

Recently, I’ve been writing about doubt. I reflected on our all-too-human ability to create doubt. I showed how doubt is a normal companion of the faithful, especially when we’re facing failure. I marveled that our Biblical ancestors doubted, even though they were eye witnesses to God’s miracles, signs, and wonders. And I pointed out that the wonder of creation can alleviate doubt, since God’s sovereignty is so obvious within it.

But I’m not finished! There’s something else. Sometimes we doubt God’s purpose. Maybe we don’t doubt His existence. Maybe we don’t doubt His sovereignty. But we can still doubt that He knows what He’s doing!

Doubting God’s purpose is usually a result of trying to control our own lives. We might say, “Well, if I were God, then this is what I would do. So why isn’t He doing it? I don’t understand!”

I look back on my life, and I remember so many times when I wanted God to do what I wanted Him to do. I look at that now and say, “Well, now I know why He didn’t do that. How awesome has it been that I didn’t have my way back then! Look at how well everything turned out!”

God sees it too, and He says, “Yes, I know. I’m God, remember? You can trust me. My thoughts are not your thoughts. My ways are not your ways. My way is better than your way. I created everything. So I know best.”

Sometimes you just have lean back, fall into the arms of God and say, “Okay.”

Be like Mary, who sat at the feet of Jesus. She just sat there and listened to Him. Sometimes it comes to a point where you just have to sit and listen. Sometimes you just have to trust and obey. Sometimes, as hard as it is, you have to simply believe that it’s all going to work out.

So just sit at His feet. Tell Him, “Okay. I’ll go with you on this. I’ll believe in this.” Then see what happens. All you need is the faith of a mustard seed.

Faith isn’t a matter of things going your way. God’s ways are not our ways. Sometimes things go His way, not yours. When things don’t go your way, that’s not evidence that God is not sovereign. God is everywhere, not just in your circumstances.

For evidence of His sovereignty, you have to look elsewhere. Sometimes that presents the greatest challenge of all. More on this next time.

See you Tuesday.

2 thoughts on “When Things Don’t Go Your Way

  1. It’s so infrequently that a person’s words of faith cause me to stop and reflect on their depth that, over a lifetime, one hand counts them all with digits to spare. But these words I reference seem to explain those little bumps on my life-road that I was and still stumble over…and they provide comfort and ease the fear or doubt. I nicknamed these pearls “The Wisdom of a Giant” and I look forward to whatever Jeremy Affeldt mithers upon and puts to page in a manner anyone can read without reservation. Please take the time, my friends, to peruse this 3 time World Series Champion, San Francisco Giants’ retired pitcher, author, philanthropist, husband and family man’s postings about his journey in faith. They are a joy to read and an inspiration. Thank you, Mr. Affeldt, for your gifts to us all…

Leave a Reply

