Home » Faith » The Creation of Doubt

The Creation of Doubt

I’ve been writing a lot about depending on God. You might ask, is it possible to have 100% trust in the Almighty God? Absolutely! But at the same time, I think humans are “show me” types. We like to see it before we believe it. That’s why the human journey will always include doubt.

What’s amazing is how much we humans create doubt. There have always been situations where people create doubt, especially among the religions. This has been going on throughout human history. As long as there have been people, there have been sorcerers, magicians, and psychics. There are even mediums who promise to call upon the dead.

We see them in the Bible! King Saul banned them, but when he was really, really frightened, even he visited the witch at Endor. She helped Saul talk to Samuel from beyond the grave. The witch didn’t want to summon Samuel, but she did. Then when Saul went into shock she tended to him. She fed him and restored his strength.

But these days, most of these people are just looking for your money. So they create doubt. They try to get power over you by making it hard for you to know what is true and what is not.

Look at the TV evangelists in the 80’s that stole money from people. Now when we see preachers on the television, we always have to wonder what’s true. Do they even believe in what they’re preaching, or are they just doing it for the money? Talk about creating doubt!

Honestly, though, we don’t need help. We can sow doubt all on our own. Think about those times when everything is going well. It’s very easy in those times to say, “God must love me.” You feel great! You say, “God is proud of me,” or, “You know what? God is shining on me today.”

Then things change. Times come when things aren’t going so well. Now we doubt. Now we say, “Maybe there’s no God. There must not be a God. God wouldn’t let bad things happen.”

I think God looks at that and says, “You’re not really looking at me as sovereign, are you? You’re just trying to make me what you want me to be. You’re trying to make me into an image, or put me in a box. You’re making an idol out of me. And you know what? I’m the living God. You can’t contain me in a box.”

I think this is what Romans 1:18-32 is about. When we ignored the truth of God’s sovereignty, our doubt and mistrust grew. God simply allowed us to experience the consequences. He said, “There’s chaos because you’re looking at me, but you don’t see me. You don’t see that I am sovereign of creation. Instead you’re saying, ‘Well, God is only real if things are going good. God wouldn’t let bad things happen, and since bad things are happening, there must not be a God.'”

I don’t think God ‘lets’ bad things happen. If that surprises you, good! More on this next time.

See you Tuesday.

One thought on “The Creation of Doubt

Leave a Reply

