Home » Grace » The Compass on My Back

The Compass on My Back

img_7771

Why would I get a cross tattooed on my back? For me, the cross is everything. I want to represent everything that it represents.

I chose this particular design because it’s a look I really enjoy. I have a necklace with the same design. I like the arrows on all sides. It shows that the cross is a compass I can use. No matter where I go, I want to encompass Christ.

Whether I turn north, south, east, or west, I want to represent Him.

Whether I am going up, down, right, or left, the cross is my guide.

No matter what direction I take in my life, I want to represent Jesus.

When you look closely at the tattoo, you’ll also notice that we made the cross look like a rock. That’s because Christ is my rock.

Whether I turn north, south, east, or west, He is my rock.

Whether I am going up, down, left, or right, He is my foundation.

Whenever I turn, I stand on that rock.

Whenever I move, I rest on that rock.

I want to represent everything that the cross represents: crucifixion and resurrection. Have you felt pain? Have you been humiliated or shamed? So has Jesus. He understands. Has someone hurt you? They hurt Jesus. He understands.

Think about it. The almighty and living God, creator of all that is, seen and unseen, knows exactly how you feel in your pain, loneliness, isolation, or shame. He knows because He felt it too. He came here and felt the worst pain that humans can feel, and why? Because He loves you. You. He did this for you.

Are you carrying secrets? Have you done things so bad that you thought you’d literally die? Jesus knows. He knows your secrets and He knows your fears. So He literally died for you. Now you’re forgiven! When He rose from the dead, that was the end of death. Now you can look forward to eternal life. That’s redemption! Think about it. That’s freedom.

The Bible says, “Take up your cross, and follow me.” Putting this cross on my back is my way of saying that I’m taking up my cross and following Him. I’m living for Him.

When I die, I’ll gain eternity. But as long as I’m here, I’m going to take up this cross. Jesus is my rock. He is my redeemer. And in Him, I know I will live.

See you Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

