Home » Faith » Ask Me, and I’ll Help You!

Ask Me, and I’ll Help You!

God chose us to help each other by loving each other as we love ourselves. This is how we stand up to evil and drive it from the world. This is how we bring the kingdom!

God knows we need help, but He’s not always going to take the first step. He’s not necessarily going to approach us and say, “I see you need help. Here. Here’s all the help you need.” No, no. God isn’t going to to that, because in the long run, that doesn’t help us at all.

If I did that with my sons every time one of them needed help, they would never become the awesome men that they are called to be. Instead I tell them, ”I’m waiting for you to ask me for help, son. When you ask me, I’ll help you. But I’m not going to just walk up and hand it to you.”

I’m not the dad that does his son’s history paper when the boy hadn’t done his homework. “Here,” that dad says, “I’ll do it for you real quick.” I can see why dads do that. The temptation to help our children is so strong! But what are we actually doing for them when we do their homework? All we do is reinforce the idea that it’s okay to wait until the last minute and then be scared to death. We teach them that this is okay, because then dad will take care of it.

That’s not teaching a son to be a good man. That’s not teaching a daughter to be a good woman. On top of that, they aren’t even learning history!

But what if my son says, ”Dad, I need help.” Then I can ask him, ”What do you need help with?” He’ll say, ”Can you help me with my history paper?” I’ll say, “Okay, son. You know you waited until the last minute right? But I’m going to help you. You’re going to write your history paper. I’ll help you do the research, we’ll talk about it, and I’ll help you put it together. Then you can type it up and polish it before you turn it in. I’ll help you because I want to see you learn and increase in knowledge and wisdom. After that, we’re going to learn not to wait until the last minute.

“You know what else I’ll do? I’ll teach you about history! Come with me. We’re going to go to D.C. You’ve been reading about the Holocaust? I’m going to show you what it looked like. Let’s go to the Holocaust Museum.”

That’s being a dad like Jesus! This is what God does. He says, “You need help? I’m going to help you. I’m not going to do it for you, but I’m going to help you. It will be spectacular! And then you’re going to be better because of it. That’s why you’ve got to ask. Ask me, and I’ll help you!”

The more that people scream out for the power of God, the more He responds. He says, “I hear your cries! I’m coming. I’m not going to fix it for you. I’m going to do something much better. I’m going to help you.”

More on this next time. See you Thursday.

Leave a Reply

