Home » Grace » Run to God!

Run to God!

Trust GOD from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for GOD’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
he’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all.
Run to GOD! Run from evil!
Your body will glow with health,
your very bones will vibrate with life! Proverbs 3:5-8

As I mentioned last time, there’s a difference between going to work with a grace-based mentality, and going to work with a legalistic mentality. A person living in grace will say, “God will show me how to work to become successful.” But legalism says, “I will work hard, so that God will see how hard I work and make me successful.”

At work, you probably have all kinds of tasks to complete, and you’re probably evaluated on how well you complete them. Someone who approaches their work with a legalistic mentality might say, “Okay, I’m going to get to work on time every day. And I’m going to do A plus B equals C so that I’ll be successful.” You want to show God how hard you work so that you’ll be successful.

But what if A plus B doesn’t equal C that day? You won’t succeed! Then you’ll feel like you did something wrong. You’ll feel like God is mad at you, or that God has abandoned you. That is a horrible way to feel.

I think grace is the opposite of that. When you live in grace, you allow God to guide you. That’s what Joseph did. When people told him their dreams, God told Joseph what he should see. And Joseph said, “Don’t interpretations belong to God?”

So God might tell you, “Alright. In order to make you successful, this is what I want you to see.” And you might see something that no one else sees, because God showed you where to look. You’ll succeed, because God will show you where to focus and how to do the job.

I read this quote the other day: “If God wants to be glorified then make Him do all the work.” That’s true! If He wants all the glory, then let Him do the work!

When you get to work, sit down at your desk and say, “You know what God? Since you want to be glorified, I’ll tell you what. Here I am. I’m not going to sit here and be lazy. I’m going to be disciplined. I’m going to get here on time, and I’m going to apply myself. But I’m going to be in tune with you. Here I am, now show me. Show me what I’m supposed to do.”

You won’t just sit there and assume it’s going to all work out. If He shows you what to do, you’ll do it. Remember John Chapter 21? In that story, the disciples fished all night, and didn’t catch anything. Then Jesus told them where to cast their nets, and they caught so much fish that their nets nearly broke! Jesus showed them what to do and they were really successful.  They had breakfast on the beach with Jesus!

I think you rest in God. The Bible says you will find your success when you rest in Him. Rest in Him and say, “Show me where to work.” Be present and ready to work, and be available to hear His wisdom. He’ll show you what to do, and He’ll show you where to do it. And the next thing you know? You’ll succeed in everything you do.

One thought on “Run to God!

Leave a Reply

