Home » Church » They Don’t Like Christianity

They Don’t Like Christianity

I learned about grace from my family by receiving it from them. My oldest son was living in a grace-based mentality even when he was really little. He has been a voice for God in my life, teaching me how to be a dad.

I’m so thankful for this! Now I know what it’s like to lead my family as the head of the home. The head of the home does not say, “I’m the head, you’re the tail, do what I ask.” The head of the home says, “I’m going to serve you. I’m going to love on you. I’m going to take good care of you. I’m going to nurture you into becoming the fullness that you are asked to become.”

I do that for my family because that’s what Jesus does for me. He serves me, loves me, takes care of me, sustains me, and is nurturing me into the fullness that He has called me to become.

Jesus does that for everybody. That’s why we naturally put ourselves under Him. We trust Him so much! We know how much He loves us.

The Bible talks about the sinners around Jesus. Before they met Jesus, they weren’t following God. But as soon as they saw Jesus, they followed Him. They said, “Lord, we’ll follow you.” Why did they do that? Well, Jesus didn’t say, “Look people, I am the Messiah. I am the son of the Almighty God, so if you don’t act a certain way I’ll strike you down.” He didn’t say that. It wasn’t His message!

People followed Jesus because He nurtured them and loved on them.

Now the church wonders why it’s losing people. Why don’t people want to follow Jesus anymore? Why don’t people want to be in church? I’ll tell you why. The church teaches grace, but expects legalism. The church says to people, “Jesus saved us by grace, so let’s live in joy and peace! BUT, you need to do this, and you need to do that, and you have to tithe this, and you have to give that, and by the way, you’re not allowed to drink in public, and if you use certain words…” It goes on and on. Rule, after rule, after rule.

That’s why people don’t like Christianity. Jesus lived in grace and people loved Him, but we are living in legalism and people don’t like us. We’re telling them what to do. We’re telling them what not to do. We’re making them feel bad about everything. We’re judging everybody!

And so we are falling apart.

It’s hard for us to avoid living in legalism, because we feel like we need boundaries. We feel like we need to have laws so that we won’t go off course. But it’s making us miss the whole point! Jesus took that all away! We don’t need to fear law and judgment anymore. Now we can give grace to each other and love on each other, and nurture each other to the fullness that we know we are called to become.

See you Thursday.

One thought on “They Don’t Like Christianity

  1. Hi Jeremy, My husband says that you work in some capacity for the Giants. I am glad because otherwise I would miss the Christian light you shine on the diamond by the Bay. Please pray for me, and if Larisa would pray too, that my surgeon successfully removes all of a precancerous or pre-melanoma skin lesion on my face (sadly large) on Wednesday, April 20th. The important thing is that it not go too deep to a lymph node. It’s most important to be cancer free than scar free. I have to stay strong for our daughter too. God bless you, Larisa, and your three boys as your family still enjoy the SF Bay area, with the free time of being semi-retired.
    My church’s Session/Deacon Board was talking about how we can grow the church through a positive church vision. Yet, the man in charge was mildly upset over PCUSA’s decision to allow gay marriage. Not upset enough to leave. I have always felt like the odd liberal out, being a Bay area transplant who moved to the Sacramento Valley for grad school. We need to show that grace you speak of so badly. Yet, stay grounded in God’s word. It is a hard line to balance sometimes, but I always try to follow the grace of God, over legalism, as you have kindly shared. Thank you for your blog and your testimony.
    In Christ,
    Victoria

Leave a Reply

