Home » Servant Leadership » Getting Out of the Way

Getting Out of the Way

Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My name, I will do it. (John: 14:12-14)

Imagine what it must have been like to be around Jesus. It would almost be overwhelming. I think I can understand where the disciples were at. They must have heard Jesus say this and thought to themselves, “What?! How am I going to be able to do what He does? This guy is unbelievable. He’s a hero! I don’t even know where to start.”

Jesus knew that as long as He was here, the disciples wouldn’t be able to do the things He was doing. They couldn’t! As long as they were with Jesus, they were going to feel inferior to Him. Jesus understood that. “That’s why I’m going to leave,” He told them. “You’re going to do greater things than I’ve done. The only way is for me to leave.”

He said, “I know I’m going to overwhelm you by my ability to do what I do. You’ll think you can’t do it, so you’re just going to let me do it.” And that’s what happened, right? But Jesus wanted the disciples to do the works that He did. For that to happen, He had to get out of the way.

But here’s the cool thing. Jesus said, “I’m going to serve you, and I’m going to be the ultimate servant leader. I know you won’t feel like you can do it. So I’m going to send the Holy Spirit, and He’s going to guide you. My friend is going to come here, and He’s going to give you wisdom. He will guide you to do things the way He saw me do them. He’s going to say, look, this is what you should do, and this is how Jesus would do it.”

This is what servant leaders do. They convince people that they can do something, and then they get out of the way and let them do it. Jesus does this for us. We see what He did, and we want to do it too. We want to do our best to live like Him. So He sends the Holy Spirit. Then we can do our best, and we can become what He molds us to be.

Servant leaders know how to surround themselves with people that they can lead by serving. Then they get out of the way. You’ve got to know when to get out of the way. Let people become what they are destined to become, and achieve greatness. This is what Jesus did for the disciples. We can be like Him by serving each other. And we do that by loving each other.

More on this next time. See you Thursday.

2 thoughts on “Getting Out of the Way

  1. Hi Jeremy,

    I heard you on KNBR the other day saying you were trying to find a contact for the Oakland Unified School District (OUSD). My good friend (and Best Man at my wedding) works for OUSD – I’m sure he’d be more than willing to help get you in touch with the right folks, so you can begin building a partnership with them. If you’re still looking, let me know and I’d be happy to set-up and introduction. Thanks for your time, Jeremy and all the best!

    Regards,
    Justin

  2. Hi Jeremy,

    We interviewed you for The Lady Brain Show a few years back about your foundation and charitable acts. We are interested in having you back on the show. What is the best way to reach you? Through this blog? Via Matt at the Giants?

    Thanks so much.

    Peace,
    Heidi

Leave a Reply

