Home » Grace » Those Days that Stink

Those Days that Stink

You will experience grace when you trust people with your real, true self. You will experience grace when you trust God to love you just as you are. And it’s okay to trust. It’s good to trust. You don’t have to hide your issues, because everybody has issues. Everybody! In the course of a day, you’re going to come across all kinds of people who really aren’t having a blessed and wonderful day. Ask them how they’re really doing. You might be very surprised by what they say.

That is a very freeing thing! Think about it. People ask you all day, “How are you doing?” Well, what if you’re doing lousy, and you say so? And then what if that person says, “Yeah, I’ve been there.” How good would you feel? I think you’d say, “I like this person.”

On the other hand, if they judge you it feels terrible! What if they say, “You shouldn’t feel lousy. Have you been reading your Bible lately? How often have you been praying?” You would feel guilty, right? You would feel condemned. I think you would feel frustrated. You know how I know? I’ve been there!

Being judged leaves you wanting to make yourself feel better. You might decide to read the whole Book of Proverbs or something, just to get past the judgment. Yet, in the end, you don’t feel any better. You still have a bad day. It’s just what it is, sometimes.

On a lousy day, God looks down on you and He says, “Yeah, you’re having a rough day. And you know what? I love you. I’m right here with you. I’m walking through your bad day with you. Take joy in that! Take joy in the understanding that I love you, and I care about you, and you walk in that same Spirit that I let Jesus walk in.”

There are going to be bad days. Jesus had them. He got pushed to the edge of a cliff! I mean, people were trying to kill Him! He had to escape out the back gate of the city because there were people trying to hunt Him down and murder Him. It wasn’t like He was hunky dory every day. Paul was in prison! The apostles went through all kinds of things. It wasn’t like they were always having a great day!

Most of the time, we do feel blessed. Most of the time, we do feel loved. But there will be days when we don’t feel blessed and we don’t feel loved. Some days just stink. You know? Some days, we feel judged. Sometimes, you put yourself out there for somebody and they mock you, or they judge you, or they tell you you’re a bad person. And on those days, we can always say, “Ah, but God has said that by the blood of Jesus, I am now righteous and holy.”

When someone has a bad day, we don’t get on their case or call them a bad person. Because there is now no condemnation! We don’t say, “How dare you feel lousy when you are so blessed? Shame on you!” Instead, we actually look at people, just the way Jesus did. We love on them.

Looking at things this way, I’m starting to see a lot of stuff that I missed before. I’ll continue with this next time. See you Monday.

4 thoughts on “Those Days that Stink

  1. I love readying your post… I agree everyone has good and bad day and it’s ok to trust others but most important to trust God and he will always be with you no matter what you are going threw…. He knows us better then we know ourselves 😊🙏🏼

  2. Thank you for the reminder. I need this reminder to deal with a negative nelly in my life, nothing is ever right with her and no one ever has it as bad as she does, yet from where I sit, she is doubly blessed. I am just going to take your advice and just love on her.

  3. One of the things I think about a lot is trust. The bible says “It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man.” It would be awesome if we didn’t judge each other, but we are flesh. It leads me to think about confession also. People will gossip, judge, discriminate, etc,. when you confess, but since God tells us to confess we are to do so. I believe there is power in admitting your faults to people, and I don’t think confession has the same power when you only tell a priest. My coworkers know my faith, and when I share weaknesses and struggles with them I believe they start to feel like they can be free from sin as well, that God’s word does have power and is true. Sometimes my confessions have been used against me, but that’s where I need to trust God and know I’m doing His will.

Leave a Reply

