Home » Mission » Yes, No, Maybe

Yes, No, Maybe

For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us. 2 Corinthians 1:20.

When God asks you to do something, be content with it. But if you want to do something else, ask. Don’t be afraid to ask. Sometimes you have to keep knocking, but that’s okay. God will answer.

And I don’t think His answer is “maybe.” I really don’t. God says yes, and God says no, but I don’t think He ever says maybe.

I don’t believe in a God that says maybe. What would that even mean? Suppose my son says to me, “Dad, can I have a candy bar?” I don’t say, “Maybe.” What sense would a child make of ”maybe”? Maybe what? Maybe when he’s good enough? It doesn’t mean anything! I really try not to do that. I tell him yes, you can have a candy bar, or no, you can’t.

When I tell him no, it might mean “no, not at this time.” He might say, “Well, when can I have a candy bar?” I tell him, “When the time is right.”

And I think that’s what God will say. He could say yes or He could say no. And He could say no, not at this time. But there is no “maybe.” I don’t think “maybe” ever comes into play with Him. God already knows what’s right.

Scripturally, “maybe” doesn’t make sense. I think sometimes the church resorts to “maybe” because it doesn’t know what else to say when the news is bad. Sometimes we think a loving God would never say no. Sometimes we can’t understand that. And when you can’t understand it when the answer is “no,” you might get confused or upset. When you ask for something and it doesn’t happen, you might be tempted to stop worshiping God. The church wants to save you from that, so it might tell you that God said “maybe.” But you can’t back “maybe” with scripture.

Sometimes, God says no. And you just have to be okay with that. God knows a whole lot more than you do. God might say no because allowing you to do what you want could corrupt or hurt you. Sometimes God says no because He loves you. I say no to my boys a lot. It’s because I love them!

The scripture says that all things in Jesus are yes and amen. It doesn’t say, all things that you ask. It says, all things that are in Jesus. Anything that allows His will to be accomplished in your life is yes. Always yes. “Can I have this, God?” “Yes my child, you can, because I think it’s going to be good for our relationship.” God will never say, “It would be good for our relationship, but no.” That’s just not how God works. Sometimes He says no, because it will not benefit you. Sometimes He says no, because it will not promote your relationship with Him. But if it’s in Jesus, He will say yes. In Jesus, it’s always yes!

2 thoughts on “Yes, No, Maybe

  1. Excellent really. Sometimes when God is saying no he is saying yes to something else. The part of the plan that you are fighting. Trust in God to know what is a yes for you and you will never have to hear the no. #God

  2. This passage is talking about all the covenantal promises in the Old Testament which are fulfilled in Christ, not prayer. So when Paul says that all the promises are yes in Christ he is not talking about what we may ask of him, but what has already been fulfilled in Christ’s person and work.

Leave a Reply

