Home » Mission » Being Where God Wants Me to Be

Being Where God Wants Me to Be

Last time, I reflected on the roadblocks that God puts in our way. I think it’s important to recognize that sometimes, the obstacles we meet come from Him. We might have something we really want to do, but He knows we’re not ready. Maybe He wants to prepare us before we tackle something. So He blocks our path.

I look back on my own career, and it’s clear to me that I needed to wait. When I broke into the big leagues, at 22 years of age, I thought I was on top of the world. If God had given me fame then, or World Series success, then I think I would have considered myself unstoppable. Maybe I would have had a heart for some things, but back then, I didn’t have had a heart for the poor. I thought homeless people were lazy! I told them to get a job! Why would God allow me a platform when I had that kind of attitude toward people in poverty? Why would He give me a voice before I understood about injustice? I wouldn’t have used my voice, platform, or money the way that He wanted me to. I wasn’t ready!

He made me struggle for six years in the big leagues before giving me success. I’m okay with that. If He’d given me success right away, I don’t know if I would have been able to handle it in a holy and righteous way. The struggle was hard, but now I can see that He loved me too much to let me succeed right away. He said, “It’s not worth it. I can give you influence in a lot of ways, but I’ll do it six years from now — when you’re ready.” Now I can look back and see that, and I’m okay with it. Obviously!

I know it’s hard. You might be itching to do something that will, in your view, help build the Kingdom. But then God blocks you — while letting other people go and do it! It’s frustrating, I know. Why did God call David to be the King of Israel, instead of one of David’s brothers? They were all older, so theoretically at least, they were better prepared for it.

I don’t know why! But God could tell you. I think He looks at the heart of every man. I think He knows the heart of every man. That’s why I try not to (and sometimes fail) get frustrated when I hit roadblocks. He puts them in my way for a reason. I’m Kingdom-minded. I want to help a lot of people. I do it by using my gifts. And I do it right where I am in life, because this is where God has put me.

Our place in life comes from God. The impact we have for the Kingdom comes from God. We are right where God wants us to be. Don’t feel bad, enjoy it! I enjoy what God has for me. I enjoy doing Kingdom work because of it.

Be content with where you’re at, and know that God has a purpose for it. You’ve been chosen for it, so just let it be. Once you understand that you are living the life that God has arranged for you, you will be content and joyful. Just say, ‘thank you.’

Believe you’re where you need to be. And if you don’t believe it, tell Him. Knock on that door, and ask Him for what your heart dreams about. Keep asking, too. Don’t give up.

See you Monday.

One thought on “Being Where God Wants Me to Be

  1. This was exactly whatI needed to hear this morning. My husband and I are at a ministry crossroad and I was allowing anxiety to creep in. But God has us in the palm of His hands and I’m excited for our upcoming adventures! Thanks for being faithful, for being Kingdom-minded, and for using your influence beyond baseball.

Leave a Reply

