Home » Mission » When Your Road is Blocked

When Your Road is Blocked

Last time, I wrote about the dynamics of waiting. Sometimes, like David, we have to wait for God. He may not fulfill our calling right away. Part of waiting is learning to be content with whatever He gives us, or wherever He puts us.

I admit, I have a hard time being content. I’ve got vision. I want to do a lot! But I’ve also got three little boys that I love a lot. So when I hit a roadblock, I stop and think about it. Maybe that roadblock is an obstacle put there by God. Maybe I’ve asked God to open a door, and He says no. Maybe He says, “It’s not worth it to you to chase that ministry out there, not if it makes you forget the number one ministry right here.” So He closes the door.

I do think that God closes doors. He closes them for all kinds of reasons. He might have something else He wants you to do. He might not think you’re ready. He might not want you to get so busy with new tasks that you forget what you were called to do in the first place. So sometimes He’s going to put up a wall, even if it means that you’re going to run right into it. You’re going to have to be okay with it.

I’m not necessarily content when that happens! It can be frustrating to hit a roadblock, or find that a door is closed to you. I might say, “God, I feel like you’re restraining me. Why won’t you let me run free? I can do some good here, if you’ll just let me!” But He hears that, and He says, “You can’t do anything good. You can only do good through me. When I say no, I don’t care how much good you think you can do. It’s not worth it!”

It’s only through God and in Him that we can bring His Kingdom. We prepare the horse for battle, but the victory is His. (Prov. 21:31) We prepare for the things we want to do. We set the goals. But He delivers. If you hit a roadblock and He wants you to get around it, He’ll just flick it out of the way. So if He doesn’t remove it, it’s for a good reason.

If He’s saying not now, then it’s not now. It’s okay. Why not wait until He says you’re ready? He doesn’t want you to go through a door when you’re not sufficiently mature, spiritually or mentally, to be able to handle what will come. He can see when an opportunity would be good, but He can also see when your heart is not ready. He’ll block you if it’s not going to be good for you. And then He’ll prepare you.

Instead of getting frustrated with Him, or fighting your way through roadblocks, why not try listening to Him? Try asking and listening, asking and listening. Try saying, “God, here’s my heart. Here’s why I want to do this thing. Here’s why I’d like to get around that obstacle. I would really like to be able to do that, but only if I can do it through you. And until you say it’s time, I’ll be content.”

God isn’t saying don’t plan. He directs your steps, but your heart plans the way. (Prov. 16:9) Let your heart dream. Go ahead and tell Him. And then, just be open. He will make the way plain for you (Ps. 5:8).

See you Thursday.

2 thoughts on “When Your Road is Blocked

  1. Your post came at a perfect time for me.  I just tried one of my plans at work and it was met with many closed doors.  I was very disappointed because I was excited for the plan, one that I hoped would bring people together.  As I was walking at lunch I believe God told me that he wants me to have that same excitement for His plans.  My plan was worldly, His plans are for the kingdom.I think this helps me understand Proverbs 16:3 better: “Commit your works to the LORD And your plans will be established”.  He will tell us the plan when we commit to Him.  I had committed my works towards unity and profit, not Him. 

  2. I love the way you explain it so even someone like me can totally understand! Thank you. Ps…I have 3 grown boys, give your wife an extra hug tonight, she has earned it!!!

Leave a Reply

