Home » Grace » Leaving the Kingdom Walls

Leaving the Kingdom Walls

Blessed is the man
Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
Nor stands in the path of sinners,
Nor sits in the seat of the scornful.
Psalm 1:1

I’ve been freed in the last couple of years more than I’ve ever been freed before, because now I understand who I am. I’ve been freed because of grace.

Sometimes Christians that grew up in the church don’t want to hang with non-Christians. They say, “Oh, I’m not supposed to surround myself with people of that nature.” But you can’t tell me that! You can’t tell me that I can’t hang with non-Christians because I’m going to be tempted to be like them. That’s taking the verse out of context. It’s nonsense! I’ve answered the call, man. So I’ve got to leave the Kingdom walls.

It’s only by going outside the Kingdom walls that I will find the people that are hurting. I love Jesus and I follow Him, and Jesus left a pretty awesome spot in Heaven to come down here and deal with us and our sin and shame. Think about it. He left a really awesome spot. And He didn’t do it just to hang out with people who didn’t need Him! He said, “I don’t help the ones that don’t need doctors. I help those who are sick.” (Matthew 9:12) He wasn’t talking only about disease, either. He said He came to help those who are sick. Sick.

We have to do the same as He did. If we don’t go out and hang with those who are sick, then what are we doing? If we don’t go outside the Kingdom walls and say, “Let me tell you about Jesus,” then what are we doing? If we don’t go out there where people are hurting and do something to help them, then what is the point? Loving our neighbors as Jesus loved us is the whole point of life! If there’s no reason to do that, then I don’t need to be here. You might as well just kill me right now and take me home.

But there is every reason to do that. Jesus said, “The first of all the commandments is: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. This is the first commandment.” And then Jesus said, “And the second, like it, is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.Mark 12:28-31

No greater commandment than these. So how could I possibly want to do any less?

One thought on “Leaving the Kingdom Walls

  1. You’ve got a future in the pulpit, Big J My Brother. I’m not a Christian, but you are an inspiration and motivator to all (plus, one of the funniest dudes to ever put on the orange & black) and I’ll come and hear you speak. In the meantime, heal quickly and completely and can’t wait to see you back on the mound. Nice message above – thx for that.

Leave a Reply

