Home » fear » Who Am I?

Who Am I?

In the last few weeks, I’ve had a lot to say about sin and grace. Jesus died for us. And when He did that, He served as the perfect sacrifice for our sins. Because of His crucifixion, death, and resurrection, we are free. We don’t have to make reparations before we can be in the presence of God, our Father. Not any more. He knows we will sin. We are in our flesh, so we can’t help it. We can’t help it! But when we sin, Jesus walks through it with us. He is right there. He loves us.

I’ve come to truly understand what it means to be a saint who sins. Discipleship is my identity. Who am I? Do you ever ask yourself that? I know who I am. I am a holy and righteous child of God. I mess up. I definitely mess up. But He loves me. He is in me, and He is with me. Who am I? Someone who wants to be just like Him. I am a man after God’s own heart.

Think about Jesus. He looked at people and He wept for them. Think about Lazarus. Jesus knew He was going to raise that guy from the dead. Yet still He wept. Why? Because He saw Mary’s heart breaking, and it grieved Him. This is who He is! So it’s a part of who I am. When I hear about people who are suffering, it grieves me. That’s the identity in which I live.

I love God with all my heart, mind, soul, and strength. I love my neighbor as myself. So God sends me out of His Kingdom and into the world. He sends me to where people are hurting.

I help fund wells so that families can have water to drink that doesn’t make them sick. I help hungry people get something to eat. I help orphans get into homes with moms who will take care of them. I help free the slaves — men, women, and children trafficked in work, sex, or soldier situations. They’re not allowed to leave. They’re locked up when they are not being used. I help them.

I don’t do it because I have to. I don’t do it because I’m afraid that God won’t see me or smile on me if I don’t. I do it because it’s who I am. The love of Jesus is part of who I am. Loving my neighbor as myself is part of who I am. When I know my neighbor is suffering, it grieves me. This who I am.

One thought on “Who Am I?

Leave a Reply

