Home » Freedom » Love In Friendship

Love In Friendship

Trust allows you to freely accept and love others. When you trust people, you don’t judge or condemn them. You don’t react negatively to the way they act. You’ll see them do things that you don’t necessarily admire, sure, but they’re only human, just like you. So you love them with the same trust and mercy that God gives you.

I have to tell you, I did not live this way for a long time. I wanted to! And I had the knowledge to do it. But I just didn’t put it all together. Now it has all come together for me. In my relationships, I feel so free, and people feel free around me. This is true both in my family and in my friendships. My wife and I have Christian friends that live with this trust mentality, and we have a great time together.

Do you have Christian friends who are always correcting you or judging you? Do they disapprove of what you say or do? I’ve been around people like that before. They keep me from being fully honest when I’m with them, because I don’t want to expose myself. I see how judgmental they are, so I don’t trust them with my whole self. I think we’ve all met someone like that. It’s exhausting, right?

But my wife and I have friends who live in trust, and they can come over to our house every day if they want to. We’re never exhausted. I think people who live in trust also live in freedom, and so it’s relaxing and energizing to be around them. We talk and we share our frustrations. We help each other. We say things like, “Yeah, I’ve been through that.” Or, “Here’s an idea. How about approaching it this way?” We never chide or chastise each other. We don’t say, “You need to do this better.” We say, “Let’s help each other. Let’s get a game plan together.”

That’s what friendship is all about. That’s what relationship is all about. And I think that’s what God is all about. God says, “Look, I know you’re going to mess up. I’m here to walk through it with you. When you mess up, I’ll say, ‘Jeremy. Okay. Let’s strategize. You know you have my Spirit in you, so you have the ability to not sin. You have the ability to live in righteousness and holiness. So all we have to do is figure this out together. How can we do this? How can I walk with you through this? And how can I encourage you through this?’”

That’s the God that I feel close to! I’m so happy! I get to say that He is my Savior and my Lord and my God and my King. I’m not talking about a God who is a dictator. My Savior does not put me to shame. My Lord and King loves me and encourages me and helps me! And so that’s what I do for my friends.

2 thoughts on “Love In Friendship

  1. Amen! 🙏🏼 great post! I totally agree with you! We can’t judge others for who they are or what they do… God says we aren’t to judge others but love them and pray for them everyday!

  2. TRUST IS TO BE EARNED – NOT GIVEN AWAY & TRAMPLED ON. GOD.JESUS.HOLY SPIRIT DO CHASTISE US FOR DISOBEDIENCE & SCRIPTURE STATES WE ARE NOT TO EVEN EAT WITH THOSE WHO CONTINUE TO SIN & NOT REPENT. JUST BECAUSE YOU DON’T TRUST SOMEONE DOES NOT MEAN YOU DO NOT LOVE THEM BUT UNTIL YOU SEE THEIR COMMITMENT TO OBEDIENCE & LIVING FULLY FOR CHRIST JESUS & NOT THEIR SELVES & THEIR FLESH – YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO TRUST THEM – ONLY LOVE THEM UNCONDITIONALLY. IT IS WONDERFUL TO FIND FRIENDS THAT WE CAN TRUST WITH OURSELVES & THEY WITH US BUT IT TRULY HAS TO BE PROVEN & NOT GIVEN LIKE PEARLS TO SWINE. LOVING SOMEONE IS BEING TRUTHFUL WITH THEM EVEN WHEN IT HURTS THEM OR YOU. THE SPIRIT OF TRUTH/THE HOLY SPIRIT WAS GIVEN TO US FOR WISDOM, COUNSEL, COMFORT, ETC. – THAT IS ONE OF THE VERY REASONS JESUS HAD TO LEAVE US & LEFT US WITH HIS SPIRIT TO HELP US – HELP & EMPOWER US TO BE TRUSTWORTHY & NOT SINFUL & CARNAL TRAMPLING ON HIS DEATH EACH TIME WE ARE DISOBEDIENT.

Leave a Reply

