Home » fear » Kingdom Mindset

Kingdom Mindset

One of the biggest problems we have, you, me, lots of us, is that we’re control freaks. The problem with control freaks is we want to decide what we’re going to do with our lives. Based on some expectation or another, we say, “God, this is my plan! This is what I want to do! And this is how it’s going to go down. Let’s get going!” When it doesn’t happen, we feel let down. We’re disappointed by God because He didn’t give us what we wanted.

Disappointment’s okay. It is. David was disappointed. The disciples were disappointed. I’m sure you can think of plenty of times when you could have said, “God disappointed me.” It’s not an issue. You only feel disappointment because you were anticipating something, and He didn’t give it the way you thought He would. It’s not a sin to be disappointed in God, and He’s not going to reject you for it. 

Disappointment is a natural emotion. But with God a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years like a day. He is not slow, He is patient. Your story has already been written! And according to scripture, He is very pleased. He knows that you’re going to be disappointed in Him along the way. “But I’ve seen the end,” He says, “and it’s very good. When you accepted Christ as your savior, when you called me Almighty God, I called you beloved child and brought you into my Kingdom. Now walk in the understanding of who I am.”

You feel anxious? Stop! Cast all your anxiety on the King, man, cast it all on Him. It needs to leave! Holy and righteous people are not anxious. Anxious for what? God says, “Be anxious for nothing! But by everything, pray.” Ask Him. He will answer you. Say, “God, I feel anxious about this. I need you to answer me. I’m going to trust you to answer me, and I’m going to walk away from this anxiety right now. I’m going to trust that you’re going to make it okay.”

Think about the first believers in the first churches. They were getting persecuted and killed. Their kids were killed because they believed in God. Still they said, “I don’t deny Him.” They knew that to live is Christ and to die is gain.

God says to you, “Right now you’re living for me. If somebody dies, they’re gaining a lot more than they’re losing.” Hard on the soul. Hard on your heart, yes. That’s your humanity. But man, Kingdom mindset is understanding that you are who God says you are. Not who everybody else says you are, or says you should be. You’re holy and righteous, period. That’s it.

Every day, remind yourself. “I am holy and righteous.” Live in that mindset. Fear will leave you. Anxiety will leave you. Disappointment will leave you. It will. It will creep in from time to time, sure. You’re human. When it does, remind yourself that’s not who you are. You can choose to live in fear, but that’s not who you are. You can choose to commit a sin, but that’s not who you are. You are His, His precious child.

That’s who God says you are.

3 thoughts on “Kingdom Mindset

  1. Great post! You are so right we all are control freaks but that’s not how God wants us to live. He wants us to look to him to guide our way everyday but praying to him not just once a day but all day, and not just when things are good but when things go bad…. He wants us to also to remember to be humble and we are to give thanks to him and pray for others… 😊🙏🏼

Leave a Reply

