Home » Aroma of Christ » A Man After God’s Own Heart

A Man After God’s Own Heart

Take a good look at who Jesus was. He never condemned anybody. He loved everybody. And He brought joy to the people He was with.

That’s what I’m trying to do. I want to be a different kind of baseball player. Of course I want to be a guy that makes lots of money, but not to have seven houses and six yachts and eighteen cars. I earn as much as I can for a different reason. I want to make money because it means I can help people that need to be helped. It means I can love people and bring them joy, just the way that Jesus did.

Of course, Jesus is God, so He’s perfect. I don’t expect myself to be perfect. Trust me, I know I’m not perfect. I mess up. I strive to live a life that is Christ-like, but I feel a lot like Paul did in his letter to the Romans. He said, “Why do I always do the things I don’t want to do, and the things I want to do, I don’t do? Because there’s a battle living inside of me and it’s called sin.” (see Romans 7:15-25)

That’s me! I’m always doing things I don’t want to do, and not doing the things I want to do. But I also live by Paul’s words in Romans 8: “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives you life has set you free from the law of sin and death.” (8:1-2)

When I mess up, I feel repentant like David. I want to tear my clothes! Instead I say, “I’m sorry. I’m trying to live my life the way that You’ve asked me to, and I messed up. Help me and guide me. Help me to hear You and not be in my own selfish thoughts.” And because there is no condemnation, He helps me. Jesus is the savior of my life!

Because of his repentant heart, David gets called “a man after God’s own heart.” (1 Samuel 13:14 and Acts 13:22) That’s what I strive to be: a man after God’s own heart. And I try to encourage others to be that way. As an athlete and believer, I’m trying to be a man after God’s own heart. In my circle, when people look to me, that’s what I want them to see. I don’t want them to see someone who’s working for their salvation. No, no. I want them to see someone who says, “You know what? Because I am saved, my works will represent Him.”

That’s what I’m about, and I that’s what I’m trying to get young people to be about. What you do in life will represent Christ because of who you are. Whatever your giftings are, whatever your talents are, you represent Him. Be a believer after God’s own heart.

3 thoughts on “A Man After God’s Own Heart

  1. Great post yet again… I think that your doing the best you can, we all I think feel like Paul sometimes when we do things we know is not right or know that it’s not good for us and God doesn’t appove or like it… We all aren’t perfect but we just have to take it day by day…

  2. Jeremy,

    I am a wife of a godly, honorable (and hunky) man and a mother to four, always loved and never forgotten, children…so it is in this context and perspective that I write – Psalm 46:10, “Be still and Know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations. I will be exalted in the earth!”

    As you are a gifted writer, a Jesus follower, a man sacrificially giving of his life to serve and love, please accept this gentle reminder that He is God. He knows what He is doing. You can trust Him with us. When you put pen to paper or keystrokes to the digital page, you are applying and imparting His love. The Holy Spirit kicks-in and fills us with the light and love and leadership for which we are so desperate – looking for opportunities to live out this very present life according to His will.

    Be at peace my brother, for He knows the plans He has made for each of us. Keep doing what you are doing, pressing deeply into His Word and His Heart for wisdom and understanding.

    Keep your joy, brother Jeremy. It is your precious adornment on the inside where you and He are inseparable.

    God is with you. Keep loving.

    Praise the Lord, Mrs. Jennifer Ellis Lakeway, TX

    >

Leave a Reply

