Home » Church » Jesus Loves Sinners

Jesus Loves Sinners

Jesus was the epitome of self-control. He could hang with drunks and all kinds of sinners and not get angry with them.

Think about it. When Jesus got angry, it was not with sinners. Jesus got angry with the people that claimed to be followers of God, and yet deceived other people. That was when Jesus had zeal and righteous anger. He said, “You people are the ones who caused me to get angry. Not the sinners. You. Why am I angry? You go around saying that all these people are not worthy of the Kingdom of Heaven because they’re not as good as you. Not as good as you? You are evil! You’re more evil than the sinners are. You’re whitewashed tombs. You’re a brood of vipers. You know those sinners you look down on? At least they admit that they stink. Those sinners I hang out with say, ‘You know, I am a drunk.’ Or, ‘Yes, I did commit adultery.’”

woman-at-the-wellLook at what happened when Jesus met the woman at the well. He asked her, “Where’s your husband?” And she replied, “Well, I don’t have one.” And He said to her, ‘Well, you’ve had five. And the one you’re living with now? You don’t even know his name.” And what did she say to Him? She said, “You’re right!” She didn’t run in shame! She just admitted it. She came right out and said, “Yeah, that’s who I am.” And God said, “Now, here’s where I can love on you.”

You see? I used to think that Jesus could hang out with sinners because He’s God, so He’s loving and forgiving. He knew their sins before they did, so He was able to work with it. That is true, but now I realize that the real reason He could hang with sinners isn’t all that complicated. Jesus just flat out loved His neighbor as Himself.

The only way you can love your neighbor as yourself is to love on him with grace and trust. You cannot love your neighbor if you don’t trust him. You can’t! And I’m not talking about blind, foolish trust. I don’t think you should say, “Hey, I don’t know you, Joe Blow, but I’m going to tell you my deepest, darkest secrets, and here’s the code to my house, and my bank account number.” That’s not the kind of trust I’m talking about. I’m talking about trusting that your neighbors are human beings. They will fail like human beings. They will not add up. That’s what people do. That’s what we all do. Human beings don’t add up, and we fail. We mess up, because we don’t all live by the Spirit all of the time.

Being able to trust people is difficult. Giving grace to people instead of burying them in judgment is very difficult, but it becomes easy when you trust God. Trust pleases Him. Without faith, it is impossible to please him!

More on this next time. See you Thursday.

5 thoughts on “Jesus Loves Sinners

  1. Good perspective on approaching sinners alien to Jesus, still lost and our attitude towards them. What about Christians changing our hearts?

    John 8:1-11 (ASV)
    1 but Jesus went unto the mount of Olives. 2 And early in the morning he came again into the temple, and all the people came unto him; and he sat down, and taught them. 3 And the scribes and the Pharisees bring a woman taken in adultery; and having set her in the midst, 4 they say unto him, Teacher, this woman hath been taken in adultery, in the very act. 5 Now in the law Moses commanded us to stone such:what then sayest thou of her? 6 And this they said, trying him, that they might have whereof to accuse him. But Jesus stooped down, and with his finger wrote on the ground. 7 But when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her. 8 And again he stooped down, and with his finger wrote on the ground. 9 And they, when they heard it, went out one by one, beginning from the eldest, even unto the last:and Jesus was left alone, and the woman, where she was, in the midst. 10 And Jesus lifted up himself, and said unto her, Woman, where are they? did no man condemn thee? 11 And she said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said, Neither do I condemn thee:go thy way; from henceforth sin no more.]

    We don’t know how the story ends with the Samaritan woman with five husbands, did she repent? Did she change. Based on the scripture above, Jesus forgives sins that we repent of (turn away from). We would have to infer that the Samaritan woman did repent by leaving her 5th husband as she was living in adultery; or we would have different standards for different people.

    When WE truly love God, we follow him and his commandments:

    John 14:15 (ASV)
    If ye love me, ye will keep my commandments.

    Jesus taught us all to change and be washed from sin and remain that way as his Children. We are the city on a hill, the light of the world and we are to be salty, teaching men what God taught us.

    We should love people enough in this world and tell them of Jesus and his power to save us from our sin. That love also includes our requirement to change and pattern ourself after his Son.

  2. Ironically, I was just thinking today that I was unworthy of love because of my horrific sins. I don’t feel I deserve absolution or forgiveness. I won’t even speak of what I’ve done because I’d rather live with the guilt for the rest of my life than to admit the truth and hurt others.
    Although I do believe in God, I don’t pray to him for my human mistakes. I blame myself and “being saved” doesn’t change what I’ve done.
    Thank you for this refreshing post reminding me that Jesus still loves me. I may not admit out loud to what I’ve done, but in no way do I claim to be a saint. I interpret the passage you paraphrase to mean that Jesus appreciates those of us who aren’t perfect and aren’t ashamed of admitting that we are flawed and that he loves us, flaws and all.
    Thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

