Home » Church » Taking off the Mask

Taking off the Mask

It’s so freeing to get into relationships where you don’t have to perform to be liked. It’s so freeing to discover that you are just liked, just because. Someone likes you and loves you, just as you are. And when that happens, you’re better able to accept that you will make mistakes and have problems. Hanging in the room of grace lets you accept that the flesh will always be the flesh.

The Bible doesn’t say you can’t be angry. It actually says you would do well to get angry. Being angry helps you emotionally. Just don’t go to sleep on it. Don’t carry that burden. Don’t hold a grudge! But violent anger, that’s what happens in your flesh.

Living in my flesh, I know that something is always going to go wrong. In my flesh, I might cuss somebody out. In my flesh, I might lie. In my flesh, I might lust. In my flesh, I might boil in anger. In my flesh, I might gossip. That is all part of the flesh.

So why do we say to each other, “Shame! That is so wrong”? Is there anyone who hasn’t lived in their flesh? You’ve never acted out? Never cut someone off in traffic? Never flipped someone off? Never yelled at someone, or gossiped? Never had a bad thought about anybody?

You can’t say that!

But we do it anyway. We don’t understand the trust and we try to live in the room of good intentions. We put on that mask, and we say, “Nope! I’m perfect! This is who I am!” But it’s a fake mask. And you will start to get hot and sweaty behind that mask. You won’t breathe well. You will start to feel uncomfortable with that mask on all the time. When you wear a mask at Halloween, it’s not very comfortable, is it? Kids take their masks off their heads because they don’t want to wear them anymore.

It’s not fun to wear a mask, but that’s what happens when you try to live in the room of good intentions. You think, “I have to perform to be good, so now, in order for me to perform, I’m going to put on this mask. It’s going to make me look like I’m always doing well, and I’m going to try to perform that way.” It’s very exhausting.

In Christ, the truth shall set you free. The Bible says there’s no condemnation now. Grace abounds over sin, and you can live in that room of grace. You can live a righteous life. That’s what happens with the Spirit of God.

I’ll continue this next time. See you Monday.

One thought on “Taking off the Mask

  1. Great post yet again…. That’s all so true… We sin but ask God for forgiveness and guidance…. We are not perfact but who really is? Their is no one perfect in this world….

Leave a Reply

