Home » Church » Becoming a Saint That Sins

Becoming a Saint That Sins

Last week, I began reflecting on some lessons that I’ve learned from an online beta course my wife and I are taking through Truefaced.com. I’ve learned so much about the importance of trust. Not only have I learned about the grace that comes from trusting others in who they are, I’ve learned about the grace that comes from trusting others with who I am. Not the person that I intend to be, always feeling great and never having a problem or a bad day, but the real person, the person I truly am.

This has been a lesson in freedom! It’s very freeing to be able to say to people, “This is who I am.” It has allowed me to mess up and not feel ashamed. I don’t live in shame now. Instead I live in trust.

nocondemnpicHere’s what it’s like. In my close relationships, I say, “I’m going to trust you. I’m going to tell you right now, I am not perfect. I am a Christian man that will fail. I will mess up. I will have a bad day, and I will maybe cuss every now and then. I might snap on somebody. Maybe I will show some frustration.” And then when I do have a bad day or show some frustration, I can trust my wife, or my close friends, or my children to say, “I don’t think of you differently. I know you messed up. It happens. It doesn’t change my opinion of you. I love you.”

Jesus is the reason I can trust people with my true, imperfect self. Jesus says, “I died for you. I took all of that shame. Then I resurrected.” The Bible says that the same Spirit that lived in Jesus now lives in me. That Spirit gives me freedom. Now, because of Jesus’ death and resurrection, I am a righteous man. I am holy as Jesus is holy.

There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh, that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. Romans 8:1-4

With this understanding, my wife and I can look at each other in trust. She looks at me and I look at her, and we see each other as righteous and holy, just as God sees us as righteous and holy. It’s the same with my close friends. It’s the same with my children.

This allows me to be a saint that sins, not a sinner that is saved. The two perspectives are completely different. When you live Biblically in who you are, then you understand that God sees you as righteous and holy. You no longer need a mask. You are free. You have the freedom to say, “This is who I am,” and you can live in that room of grace. When shame starts causing you trouble you can say, “No, I am righteous.”

I have more to say on this next time. See you Thursday.

2 thoughts on “Becoming a Saint That Sins

  1. Great post! Jeremy you are so right, that trust may not be easy but trusting your close friends and family is an amazing thing. Your not always going to be perfact and who is, we get mad, curse , get sad, fight we have bad days sometimes but we just have to take it one day at a time…

  2. I can’t believe the incredible timing in how you put this out this week. I am seeing this issue *right now* with someone very special to me who really needs to read and understand this. Incredible! Thank you Jeremy! Look forward to reading Thursday’s installment (and seeing you play vs A’s this week!).

Leave a Reply

