Home » Wisdom » My Pastor Says…

My Pastor Says…

Here’s one of my pet peeves. I see someone doing something. I ask them, “Why are you doing that?” And they say, “I don’t know, just because.” That bugs me! Just because? What do you mean, just because? If you ask me why I do what I do, I’m going to give you a reason. I don’t do things without having a reason.

I see variations of this when I’m talking to other believers. We might be sharing what we believe, and I’ll ask, “Why do you believe that?” It bothers me when they answer, “Well, my pastor says…”

That’s your answer? You believe something just because your pastor says it? That doesn’t make sense to me. You have to know what you believe, and why you believe it. What have you heard? What have you asked God? The Bible says, when asked about your faith, make sure you have an answer for each question. I don’t think it meant for you to tell people, “Well, my pastor says…”

Now, your pastor may be right. I hope so! Our pastors are our shepherds. They’re doing their best. They’re asking God for wisdom. But I’m going to tell you something important. When you look back through the course of church history, you will see a record of a lot of people who were supposedly wise in God, but messed it up.

So I say, be careful believing things just because someone else does. You should talk to God yourself. Ask God what to think. If you have heard an answer from someone else, ask God if it’s the right answer.

Or do you prefer to just show up on Sunday, sit in your seat, and let someone else tell you how to believe? Do you go to church on Sunday, get told what to do, and then just go home and do it? Because if that’s how you do things, then your answer for everything will be, “My pastor says…”

Believers are supposed to carry the image of the Almighty God, and when He was here with us, He walked the streets. Jesus went out and talked to people. Jesus helped people. Jesus taught people. That’s what it’s like to bear His image. You need to be walking the streets, hanging out with people, and sharing your wisdom and insight with them. What’s going to happen when they ask you a question and your answer is, “Well, my pastor says…”?

I don’t really think that’s going to go very far with people. I don’t think that you’re going to look very intelligent. You’re going to tell them what your pastor says, and they’re going to look at you and say, “But what do you think?” And you won’t know! When that happens, they’re not going to want to talk with you. They’re going to move on to the next thing.

You need to talk to God. There are a lot of people out there that can tell you why they believe what they believe. And they will make you doubt, if you do not know what you believe, or why you believe it. They will make you doubt, if your only answer is, “Because my pastor said it.” They will make you doubt, if you’ve never done your own research, or never done your own thinking, or never prayed and asked God to give you wisdom.

Believers have the same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead. We have the same Spirit that came upon Jesus and allowed Him to start doing miracles, signs and wonders. That Spirit lives inside of you. That’s Lady Wisdom living inside of you. Show it!

See you Monday.

3 thoughts on “My Pastor Says…

  1. Great post… It bathers me too when people say just because… Everything has a reason behind everything we do… Find faith for yourself not cause others say you should belive… But find what feels right for you and God will gide you…

  2. Thank goodness my pastor (and the entire pastoral staff at my church) looks at Luke 6:40 as our defining Scripture! And we are expected to dig into the Bible on our own and figure out what the applications are for us personally!

  3. Excellent! This has always bugged me as well, especially in relation to the abortion question. I’ve had friends say they think abortion is fine, because they know someone who’s had it done. Huh?

Leave a Reply

