Home » Discipleship » The Lesson of the Copper Pipe, Part 3

The Lesson of the Copper Pipe, Part 3

You really should try out this copper pipe idea. Here’s what I’ve discovered: if I see the copper pipe in everyone, I don’t judge them. It’s no longer my goal to judge them.

Let’s take anger as an example, because there’s plenty of that going around. When I see the copper pipe in someone, I don’t look at them and say, “Hey man, you’ve got a serious anger issue. You need to clean that up.” It’s not my goal to even think it.

Why not? Because I’m a copper pipe too! I could have a serious anger issue. In fact, it would be very easy for me to have that same anger issue. Suppose I never asked God into my life. If I always looked at life a certain way, and did it without God, I would also be a very angry person. I’ve been there! I’ve been a very angry person!

Think of those times when you come home from work and you’re irritable. And in your irritability, you speak sharply to your husband or wife, or you’re mean to your kids. Your spouse and your kids are thinking, “Why is she so angry? Why is he being mean? Mom/Dad is always so angry. I don’t understand!”

Well, everybody’s angry. Everybody experiences irritability after a day at work or at home. That’s why we don’t judge each other for having anger issues.

“Peace, be still!” Mark 4:39

The lesson of the copper pipe teaches us to look past judgment and discover the value of a choice we can make: a choice to let the Spirit of God into our lives.

Try this. Go back to those times that you come home from work and you’re irritable. You don’t want to take your anger out on your family, but you have to go in the house. So you pray. You tell God that you’re irritable. You tell Him, “God, I know I’m angry, so I need to access You. You are peace. You’re my understanding. And You calm storms. I would like to access that right now.”

This is what you do: you turn on your hot water. You turn it on and let it flow into your soul. You say, “God, I need the peace that only You can give me.”

Once you’ve done that a few times, you’ll start doing it quicker. Once you’ve begun, you’ll start believing it sooner. And when you start believing it, it happens. Your irritability will leave you, and you’ll become peaceful. You won’t enter the house with anger, you’ll enter with peace. Now your family sees you and knows you as a happy, joyful person. But you have to choose to turn the hot water on.

There are people out there that do not make that choice. But you don’t judge them as being a bad person for that. You don’t look at somebody having the exact same struggles as you, and say, “Why are you always like that?” No, you don’t! Because you know why they’re like that!

The only difference is that you choose – hopefully – to access the hot water. You choose to live by the Spirit of God.

Next time, I’m going to share some thoughts about why I think Jesus didn’t judge, and what that meant to the people around him. See you Thursday.

One thought on “The Lesson of the Copper Pipe, Part 3

Leave a Reply

