Home » Family » Christian Dads (Part 2)

Christian Dads (Part 2)

Then Jesus answered and said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner.”  (John 5:19)

It is the duty of every Christian man to replicate, to the very best of his abilities, everything that he sees Jesus do. John’s Gospel expresses it perfectly here. Just as Jesus does what He sees His Father do, so our children will do what they see us do. So what we do is really important. We are called to be just like Jesus.

Jesus did not judge us. He loved us. When He came, He stood up for a lot of different points of view. If He got angry with anybody, it was the Pharisees, because they were the religious leaders. They were like the presidents of our seminaries, or the pastors of our large churches. People looked to the Pharisees for moral wisdom and spiritual guidance. So Jesus said to them, “You’re embarrassing me! You’re embarrassing everything that we stand for! You are whitewashed tombs!”

Jeremiah 31_3But He never judged sinners. Ever. He didn’t judge them because He knew, 100%, that when He went up on that cross, He would be taking their shame. He knew it! He said to the prostitute who was about to be stoned, “Go on, I do not judge you. Stop doing what you’re doing, sure, but just go. You are forgiven.”

He was prophesying to her. He was saying, “Look, when I get nailed to that cross, and that blood starts dripping from my body, and I get whipped and beaten, I’m doing it for you. I love you, and this is why I’m doing this. I’m doing this because you feel shame over what you do. These people want to stone you? I’m going to die for you, because I love you.”

Think about the people that hated Jesus. They were the religious leaders. They looked at others and condemned them for their sins. They said, “This is not how it’s supposed to be done! You’ll have to pay!”

You see, love just didn’t make sense to them. To be like Jesus, they would have to become servants. They would have to change how they looked at everything. They would need to forgive sinners, be kind to them, serve them, and love them. But that isn’t how they looked at things. They could only imagine making sinners pay.

And Jesus said, “No, no, no, no, no! That’s not how it goes! I’m going to pay the price for it. I’m going to take all of this on. I’m going to die. My Father will turn his back on me because I am going to take all the sins of the world upon my shoulders. Why am I going to do this? Because I love the sinners. And when I resurrect from the dead, they will be redeemed. They won’t have to live in shame. They won’t have to live in guilt. They will live in freedom! And they’re going to want to change because of it.”

I think this is what Christian dads should try to give their families. More on that next time. See you Thursday.

One thought on “Christian Dads (Part 2)

  1. You did it again with this new post part 2… Keep up the great work and never stop sharpening the word of God and Jessus! Enjoy your day and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

