Home » Church » Replacing Judgment with Love

Replacing Judgment with Love

Nietzsche said the last Christian died on the cross.

That is such a bold, yet powerful and piercing statement. Is it true? In some ways I feel that it is. And that’s painful!

It’s not just how one man saw it, either. I think a lot of people see it that way. Jesus would not want it to be true, so we need to do something to change it.

It’s a joke how much we judge in the church. We judge other people. We think we’re better than other people. We think we’re better human beings than other people, because we found Jesus.

Love will coverJesus would not think that way. He wouldn’t! Jesus would say, “You should not try to make yourselves better in the eyes of other human beings because you found Me. That’s not how it works. You should love other people better because you found Me.” And I think that that’s just so good, man. That transforms relationships and heals souls!

I have seen the good that comes when I don’t judge other people. I’ve been there when a guy does something that I know is wrong. He will look at me with a look of challenge, as if to say, “Oh, you’re a Christian guy, you think you’re better than me.” He will look to see how I will react. And I know he expects me to shake my head and judge him, right there on the spot.

I look forward to those moments, because I can look at him and smile. And I can give him a hug. And I can say, “I love you.”

Then he might say, “But I just did something you think is wrong!”

And I can say, “You’re right, and I don’t agree with it. I wouldn’t do it, because I don’t think it’s right. But that does not change my view. I love you as a human being. I love you so much. And I love your life. I hope that one day, you will know the right way to do things. But brother, I will not turn my back on you. I love you.”

That heals the soul immediately! When you do that, people are blown away. They’re like, “Whoa, wait! That’s not how it’s done!”

They’re right! That’s not how it’s done, because we haven’t done it right.

Jesus is the one that showed us the right way to do things. Now the church is called to love like Jesus. Who will you love today?

See you Monday.

2 thoughts on “Replacing Judgment with Love

  1. It’s easy to love the ones you love but harder to love your enemy’s but Jessus love even his enemy’s and we need to also! God says dont judge others if you don’t want to be judged the way you judge others for God will be the judge but we are human and in perfact….

  2. I have shared you blog with my Pastor several times, and he likes it. You always inspire me to be a better Christian. When you come from a dysfunctional family of origin, it is sometimes really challenging to suspend all judgement. Yet, I try to take the plank out of my own eye, before I find the speck in my neighbor or brother/sister’s eye. http://biblehub.com/matthew/7-5.htm I would be so very grateful if you and your wife Larisa would pray for my husband Cliff, I have been praying for his salvation and physical healing for 16 years now, and nothing seems to help. I know sometimes I compromise my testimony in the flesh, yet I love him so much. I lay my testimony at the foot of the cross and pray for greater wisdom each day. I don’t want to give up hope for my husband’s healing and salvation. He is so ill with Crohn’s Disease and the medication Humira has a terrifying side effect profile. This is better than an 8 hour surgery (4th prospective surgery) that could do more harm than good. The piano player at my church warns me that my husband must believe in Jesus before the surgery……. She doesn’t even remember that before I became a Deacon, I delivered bread and a bunch of goodies to her and her husband as a welcome to the church. I know that salvation isn’t purchased with yummy baked goods. (I have a M.S.W.) I am just so exhausted from worrying about my husband.

    I would also greatly appreciate your prayers for a ministry EG WINS, which is a winter sanctuary for the homeless in a southern suburb of Sacramento, Ca. from 12/15/13 – 2/15/14: http://egwins.org/ God Bless you Jeremy…..Go Giants in 2014!!! ; – )

Leave a Reply

