Home » Discipleship » Teaching My Sons About Money

Teaching My Sons About Money

I don’t want to make all this money and die knowing that I did nothing with it.

And I really don’t want my sons to grow up thinking that life is all about money.

I don’t want to raise them to think that success is something we achieve only for our own sakes. I just don’t want them thinking that way.

Joseph of ArimathaeaI want my sons to be financially successful. Of course I do! But I also want them to know that financial success is not the point of life. You know what I plan to say to my sons about money? This is what I’ll say:

“Go ahead and make a ton of money, if that’s what you really want to do. Sure! Great! Just remember that you’re not going to find a lot of joy in it.

I understand if you want financial success and to live a life of great material wealth. I understand if you want to have tons of money. I don’t think that those are bad goals to have. But my question to you is, why do you want all that money?

Remember, money is not necessarily the best thing. You will see a lot of wealthy people that are not very happy. And they always need more money.

The key is to understand what money is for.

And you shall remember the LORD your God, for it is He who gives you power to get wealth, that He may establish His covenant which He swore to your fathers, as it is this day. Deuteronomy 8:18

The Bible says God has given us the ability to gain wealth in order to to establish His covenant. That’s part of bringing the Kingdom to earth. That is His goal for us. It’s His goal for financial success. If you make a lot of money, it will be because God wants you to use His money to build the Kingdom. Do that, and you will be happy!

But you can learn so much by not having anything. Look at what Paul wrote to the Philippians:

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:12-13

Like Paul says, I’ve had it all, and I’ve lived in need. I’ve been poor, and I’ve been rich. And in all things I’ve learned that it’s all about Jesus. He’s the fulfillment of everything.

Listen, you can have all the material wealth in the world, and still have nothing. Or you can be like St. Francis of Assisi, who lived a life of poverty. He probably would tell you he had everything. Rich or poor or in between, you can be happy when you live a life of Jesus.”

This is the mentality that I want my kids to have. It will sustain them throughout their lives. Understand that happiness is not about how much money you make. Happiness is about what you do with the gifts you are given. Whatever gifts you are given, in whatever areas you excel, however it is that you enjoy success, simply live the lifestyle of Jesus.

See you Monday.

4 thoughts on “Teaching My Sons About Money

  1. Thank you for sharing a great perspective! It is one that we share with our kids and try to instill in them at an early age~~ Your boys are the right age for these lessons to be happening!

  2. I know this isn’t the in line with the topic of this post, but I want to share some great news. Last January, you came to Merced to help bring awareness to human trafficking. At that time, most people in our community – to include our local law enforcenment officials – were either unaware, or in denial that human trafficking was taking place in our little town.

    Since then, a small grassroots effort has taken hold and I wanted to share a story from today’s newspaper: http://www.mercedsunstar.com/2013/10/10/3270774/34-arrested-in-undercover-prostitution.html

    THANK YOU for giving so freely of your time to help spread the word!

Leave a Reply

