Home » Abundance » Sharing Abundance

Sharing Abundance

I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. John 10:10

Abundant life! What does that mean? Well, abundant life is a life that is not in need. You don’t need to find food, you have it. You don’t need to find water, you have it. You don’t need to find a place to live, you live somewhere. You don’t need to find a job, you have a job.

It doesn’t mean you have millions of dollars. I think abundance is having enough, plus some for somebody else. And if you have enough, and you have extra, then you live in abundance.

Consumerism can actually kill people. You can get caught up into buying more stuff for yourself, stuff you don’t even need, while there are people who will die if they don’t get your help.  That’s the situation we’re in.

I know people are going to tell me, “Well, Jeremy, you have trinkets.” It’s true! I have an iPad, an iPhone, and a laptop. I’ve got three things that get on the internet all at once. Maybe that’s excessive! But I also give to other things that are more important.

Clean water is abundant life. We saw the joy clean water brings when Generation Alive built a well in a Ugandan village.

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t have anything. But if you never even have a mindset to help someone in need? That’s shallow. I’m not saying that you should never buy anything for yourself. I’m not saying that at all. I’m saying that if our drive, our heart, our focus, is simply to make sure we have what we need, then we have the wrong heart. If we’re always saying, “I want this and I want that, and I know I could live without it but I’m going to get it and I’m going to get that too,” and we don’t have a thought for anybody else, then we have the wrong mindset.

An abundant lifestyle is so much more than having a lot of consumer goods. We think “abundance” and we see dollar signs. I think that’s America. But abundance can mean something really different in other parts of the world.

You could go somewhere else in the world and ask, “What does abundance mean to you?” And they’ll say, “You know when I have abundance? It’s when I’ve got a home. I don’t care if it’s a 600 square foot home. It’s a home. My family now doesn’t have to live on the street. I’ve got that, my kids are going to school, I’ve got a job, we’ve got food on the table, I’ve got a well to get fresh water from, my kids aren’t dying of dysentery. That’s abundance. I know what it was like to try to live without a home, a job, clean water, food. Now I have these things. My family’s safe! That’s abundance.”

We need to help make that happen. We’re ambassadors for Christ! He said He came so that we may have life and life abundantly. He gave us the message, He gave us the example, and He gave us that quality of life when He was on earth. These things didn’t leave with Him when He left. He gave them so that we’d live by them, and if we are to represent Him, we need to do a better job of bringing abundance to others.

3 thoughts on “Sharing Abundance

  1. Awesome! I just helped with Clean water in an area! PTL. FELT AWESOME TO BE ABLE TO GIVE BACK!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Due to my husband’s health issues, I had to step down as the secretary for EGWINS,,a program to help feed the homeless during the cold winter months from 12/15-2/15 in Elk Grove, California. I hope and pray that the program continues onto next year; when I can be the secretary without worry for my husband’s health. It does feel so very good to give back. I know I can still do something to help, just not writing the minutes for the meetings since my husband’s health must come first.

    God Bless you Jeremy for all your philanthropic contributions to the community/world, in Jesus name.

  3. Each day is a challenge but take one day at a time and always put God First and it’s ok to buy something for yourself as long as you don’t go to crazy and always safe for emergency things first!! Good post!! God Bless…

Leave a Reply

