Home » Jesus » Why Jesus Died For Us

Why Jesus Died For Us

Now as He drew near, He saw the city and wept over it, saying, “If you had known, even you, especially in this your day, the things that make for your peace! But now they are hidden from your eyes. For days will come upon you when your enemies will build an embankment around you, surround you and close you in on every side, and level you, and your children within you, to the ground; and they will not leave in you one stone upon another, because you did not know the time of your visitation.” Luke 19:41-44

Jesus looked at Jerusalem and He wept. He looked at Jerusalem and He said, “I see what’s going to happen to you.” It was still a few decades away, but Jesus could see what was coming. The Romans would demolish the city and nearly everybody in it would die. Jesus wept because these were His people and He loved them. He loved humanity. He loved us – you and me.

Jesus loved humanity so much that He died for us, even while knowing that in two thousand years, a lot of us would not even care that He existed, much less care that He wept.

Love for JesusHe died on a cross for people who say, “I don’t believe in God. I believe in Buddha.” He died knowing that it was for people who would come to believe in crystals. He died for people who would look at the moon and call it God. He died for the Romans who made up a whole pantheon of gods. He died, knowing that He was doing it for the sake of people everywhere who believe in every god except for Him. Why would He do that? The reason is simple. He loves humanity. “Whether they believe in me or not,” He said, “they’re created in my image. And I love them.”

I have a whole new understanding of His love for us now that I have kids of my own. I would die for my kids. Even if they hated me, I would lay down my life down for them. I wouldn’t say, screw those kids. I wouldn’t do that to my own children, and I don’t think Jesus would do that to us.

I would die for my sons, hoping that they would eventually figure out who they really are. I would die for them, hoping that somehow they would come understand who they are called to be. I would extend life to them, so that they could do good things in this world. I wouldn’t be here to see it, although maybe I could look down from heaven. But even if I could never see the men they would become, I would die for them.

That’s why Jesus died for us. He was there when everything was created. He understood what He was dying for. I think maybe it frustrated Him at times, but He still understood it.

Christians are called to love. To love like Jesus requires grace! More on this next time. See you Monday.

4 thoughts on “Why Jesus Died For Us

  1. Why did you tag “Buddha” on this post? Have you considered all the contradictions and scientifically proven errors of the Bible? How much doubt do you have? You can trust your doubt. Theology makes a lot more sense when you realize that Christianity is a myth.

  2. Pingback: Relationships, Not Rewards | To Stir A Movement

Leave a Reply

