Home » Hunger » The Holiness of Success

The Holiness of Success

Sometimes people wonder what keeps me focused on social justice. They ask me, “What makes you do all this for other people?” Well, I do it because I care about other people. I love them, and I love the God that created them. It’s the same God that created me. He saved my life! So I want to help save others.

I’m focused on success for the same reason. I focus on success because I want to achieve something, not only for myself, but for those who do not have. I’m talking about those who do not have food, or clean water, or a mom and dad to love them, or even basic freedom.

I’d love to see that same approach to success take root in the world on a global scale. Right now, we’re not thinking that way. Go find any person at random right now, anywhere you like, behind a desk or on a ball field or in a doctor’s office or whatever. Ask them if they get up in the morning and set a goal to achieve something just so that they can help provide for someone who does not have. I’ll bet at least 70% of the people are going to say, no, I don’t think like that when I set goals.

College Track KidsBut what if we approach our kids with that idea? We see it happen with Free2Play and Something to Eat. In these organizations, we see kids setting goals just so they can help another kid. They say, “I guarantee you I can come up with 15 cents to feed a hungry child.” Or they say, “I guarantee you I can come up with 5 cents to help with Not For Sale.” It’s feasible for a 12 year-old or a 10 year-old to say, “I can do chores, or something, but I’ll raise a dollar. I’ll get one dollar from somewhere.” And they do it, too. They see this as a priority.

When we involve kids in projects like this, they learn to think this way. We’re setting something in motion for them. So eventually we’ll see awesome things happen. These kids will live their entire lives according to the idea that their success is for them and for somebody else. Loving their neighbor as themselves will become an integral part of their definition of success.

They will also realize how big they can dream. They’ll set goals. They’ll say things like, “I want to be the president of my company so that I can make the rules. One of my rules will be that a portion of my company’s funds are going to build wells.” Or they’ll set a goal to be a successful entrepreneur so that they can take their company and go help people who need clean water or food. Or they’ll find a way to put an end to slave labor in their industry.

Showing up to help a person or a community that does not have is holy, man, it really is. It compounds exponentially. The people you help know how they were helped, and they will want to do the same thing. They’ll know how you helped provide for them, by setting goals, dreaming dreams, and succeeding. Now they will do the same thing. They will set goals, and dream dreams, and succeed. They’ll achieve something for others in need as well as for themselves.

Let’s learn to think this way. Let’s teach our kids to think this way! If people think about how to help others, they will excel in their jobs and in life. They will work harder because they will want to be more successful, knowing that their success can save lives. This is the real “best life now” scenario. This is the key to success!

3 thoughts on “The Holiness of Success

  1. Starting early with our kids will really help them learn and realize they CAN do something! Seeing your child work to make a life better for someone else is one of the priceless things in this life! Thanks for the encouragement and challenge!

  2. Excellent Jeremy!!! Starting this kind of “ripple” among our youth will have far reaching affects and will be a blessing not only to others but to themselves as well.

Leave a Reply

