Home » Grace » Giving Up Control

Giving Up Control

We want control. We want to control what we do, and how people react to us. Some of us even want control over how people act when we’re around them! The thought process is something like this: “I want people to act a certain way when I’m around because that will make me feel better.”

We might want control over the people closest to us, like our families. How many of us have said this: “If my husband (or wife) and my kids look like this or act like this, then people will think that our family is good.” Sound familiar?

You could say that I want control because I’m a baseball player, but I think it’s just because I’m a person. It’s a human thing. We want control.

Still, as a baseball player, I am very control-oriented. When I go out on that field, I don’t control where a hitter hits a ball. I don’t control when a hitter swings at it. So I have to control everything before that. I control my environment at the field. I control my workouts and the development of my technique, and I control the delivery of the pitch. All of this has helped me to succeed.

Controlling the baseball is one thing. But when it comes to family and relationships, control won’t work. You cannot control people. You have to give up control.

amazing-grace

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “grace”? Is it “mercy”? How many times have you heard someone say, “Oh, I’ll give them grace this time.” It’s like saying, “I’ll just let it slide.” It’s kind of a non-spiritual way of looking at it. Grace has acquired an almost casual quality. Or we hear the word “grace” and we say, “Grace? That is Jesus dying for us. Grace is allowing us into His kingdom. It’s allowing us into His family.”

I think that perspective has merit, but there’s more to it. I finally started to truly understand grace when I heard the definition from the Oxford English Dictionary. The OED defines grace as “the free and unmerited favor of God.” How do we get God’s grace? Grace is free and unmerited. We can’t earn it. God just gives it to us.

In some ways that is so foreign! He just gives it to us? Who does that? Well, God does! Truly, that’s what He does. He just gives it to us. He simply gives us favor. And when God gives us grace, He allows us to live in it.

In the last couple of months, God has taken me on a journey into grace. Going on this journey, and understanding what it means, has been a big deal for me. I’ve been going through scripture and seeing it in a new way. I’ve been working with Biblical principles and gaining fresh insight. I’ve been learning what it really means when it says, “Don’t live by the law.” And I’ve found freedom.

Letting go of control and living strictly by grace has freed me. More on this next time. See you Thursday.

4 thoughts on “Giving Up Control

  1. Great perspective. I always look forward to reading what you have written, as it makes me look deeper into my own beliefs and understanding. Thank you!

  2. Hi Jeremy! I was encouraged by this post! I am a big Giants fan and last month had purchased the Franchise DVD following the 2011 season. I just got to finishing it last week and amongst all of the guys, for some reason, your personality and demeanor had stuck out and resonated with me. This led me to do some researching about you. Which then led me to your blog. I am coincidently Christian so I was so enthused to hear about this blog and your book! I’m a big supporter of Love146, so when I read that you support Not For Sale, I had to order it! It comes in the mail tomorrow : ) Keep doing what you do, and I love how you’re using your career as a profession athlete to glorify God and be an example to people like me that He calls us to serve wherever we may be in our life. Thank you! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

