Home » Baseball » What Should I Pray For?

What Should I Pray For?

My son, if you receive my words,
And treasure my commands within you,
So that you incline your ear to wisdom,
And apply your heart to understanding;
Yes, if you cry out for discernment,
And lift up your voice for understanding,
If you seek her as silver,
And search for her as for hidden treasures;
Then you will understand the fear of the Lord,
And find the knowledge of God. Proverbs 2:1-5

Happy New Year! Last time, I promised to describe the meaning that the Book of Proverbs had for me in the 2012 postseason.

During the playoffs, there were a lot of guys playing through injuries, including me. We were all tired. And we had to use everybody in the playoffs this year. There was a new guy every day. And that was huge for us, for the whole team. There was a lot of weight on everybody’s shoulders. We didn’t rely on just one guy to carry us. We relied on everybody.

I relied a lot on knowing and hearing God. I relied on understanding that I could ask for wisdom when I was on that mound. Buster Posey would put down a finger, and I would ask for wisdom. I would ask God, “Is this the best pitch to throw?” I would pray to God to give Posey wisdom when he called pitches.

proverbs1-20If you read the entire Book of Proverbs, you’ll see that asking for wisdom is its most prominent theme. The book says wisdom cries out to us. She cries out! Wisdom cries out from the street corner, saying, “Come my way, and I will give you good food to eat. I will give you food that will last forever. I am not fake knowledge. I am not destruction. I am wisdom. I will make your path straight. And the knowledge I give you will bring you into who you need to become.”

So obviously I asked for wisdom as I pitched. And when my prayers were answered, I threw almost the least amount of pitches you could possibly throw per inning. I just asked for knowledge and wisdom for my catcher and for me, and it was great! I was able to know and understand what I needed to ask for.

I know sometimes people say, “I don’t know what to pray for. I don’t know what to ask God for. Is it selfish to ask for what I want or need?” Well, I truly believe the Bible promises that God will tell you what to ask for! That’s what wisdom is for!

I think the Holy Spirit comes down and gives you wisdom. The Holy Spirit helps you understand what you need to ask for. And you’ll receive what you ask for, because He’s telling you what to ask for. Not only that, the Spirit helps you know when to ask. The Spirit helps you ask for the right thing at the right time, just when you need it. That is so cool!

God said to me, “Ask for mercy and grace, because you’re going to need it out there.” So I prayed for mercy and grace, and I got it. Yes, that’s huge for me. But think about it. That’s huge for believers all over the world. We can all get confused on what to ask for. I’ve been confused on what to ask for, and now I understand that God will give me the wisdom and understanding I need. He’ll let me know what to ask for.

God understands the pressures that we have in life. He understands what we need. And His timing is perfect! Ask for His wisdom and understanding, and be confident in the grace and mercy that He can give us in our time of need.

God is so good to me, but I really want you to know just how gracious and merciful He can be to you, in any of your situations. We serve a God that loves us and wants the best for us, and doesn’t want to hurt us. He wants to fill our hearts with His wisdom and goodness.

All we need is openness to Him. See you Saturday.

3 thoughts on “What Should I Pray For?

  1. That message was a perfect reminder for me. I’ve been relying less on Him and more on me these last few months, and Proverbs was such a clear voice telling me to seek out His wisdom, not mine.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. I know a lot of people (including me!) were praying for you as you pitched. I love how you combine your 2 passions of God and baseball — it’s awesome.

  3. Speak the wisdom and goodness that you want in your heart. From the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks Matt 12:34b So think about what you want in your heart, and speak that.

Leave a Reply

