Home » Baseball » God Is My Confidence

God Is My Confidence

For You are my hope, O Lord GOD;
You are my trust from my youth. Psalm 71:5

I don’t think there’s a formula you can use that will allow you to find peace.  I think it all comes down to who you believe in.  Do you believe in yourself?  That’s great!  But those who believe only in themselves will not find peace, at least not consistently.  It’s because we just don’t have 100% confidence in ourselves.  We can’t have 100% confidence.  We fail ourselves too much!

When you face a challenge, you’re afraid you’re going to let yourself down.  You say to yourself, “Oh my gosh, I don’t want to fail.”  And then when you do come through, the fear of success kicks in.  Now you say to yourself, “Oh my gosh, can I do it again?  I don’t know if I can do that again.” You see?  Even if you truly believe in yourself, you aren’t at peace. You fear failure and success. It’s an ongoing battle.

The difference for me comes from believing in the Almighty God.  He has created everything.  He created baseball and He created the laws of physics and how a ball moves.  In the Psalms David said, “You have been my confidence since I was a youth.”  I lean on God for everything, even my confidence.

I’ve dealt with times when I have tried to take it away from God. I’ve wanted to just trust myself. I’ve said things like, “If I were God, this is how I’d do it, so this is what I’ve got to try to do.” I’ve done that, but it’s never really worked!

We all try it at some point. But I know by now that nothing happens without the sign-off of the Almighty God.  If God wants you in the game, you’re going to be in the game.

What do I do when I’m in the game?  I pray!  I say, “God, on this day You have said, Jeremy, you are to pitch.”  I lean on Him.  I yearn for Him.  I say, “God, the peace that you’re going to give me, let it surpass my understanding.”  In playoff games, I pray, “God, I need Your peace.  This is an intense situation.  The only way to come through right now is to have the peace that I cannot give myself.  I need You to give it to me.”  And He does.

That’s what God does for people that ask for it, and truly believe it.  See you Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “God Is My Confidence

  1. It’s so good to know exactly what you need prayer for when you are on the mound. I pray for your success pitching all the time. (I pray for all the team’s success.) I have a routine — I say the Lord’s Prayer quickly and I must finish before the pitch is launched or the prayers don’t count for that pitch; rather the next pitch. Then I address w/ God if the pitcher is a believer to my knowledge. Knowing you from these blogs and fellowship day, I say, “This is your beloved son Jeremy. Help him get ___ strikes in a row. I can count needed strikes to close out the inning fast. All the time, I have my hands held toward heaven. Some would think me crazy, but I think of me as a hardcore fan and faithful gamer babe. Now I know, especially in the pressure cooker playoffs, you need prayers for peace. Philippians 4:7, “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”

    Go Giants for your one year delayed repeat cause Buster was hurt!

    We will stay faithful to our prayers no matter the outcome.

    Good Luck in the Lord, which isn’t luck; rather divine destiny,

    Victoria

  2. Jeremy, excellent reflections of our every day vulnerabilities as people, as children who depend on our life giver : our God & Lord. I ‘ll be praying for you & your teammates endeavors together, along with your God-given gifts of family who bring you the support your heart and souls need. Good 2 meet who u r online. In dependence upon Him too, m

Leave a Reply

