Home » Aroma of Christ » Stubborn Christians

Stubborn Christians

I don’t go around telling people they are wrong. At least, I don’t volunteer the information. If they ask me, “Do you think what I’m doing is wrong?” and I do think so, then no problem! “Yes.”

If you ask my opinion, I’m going to give it to you. But it doesn’t mean I don’t love you. I don’t give people the cold shoulder either. If I don’t think what you’re doing is right, I’m not going to tell you, “You have to get away from me, I can’t be around you.” I’d never do that! Jesus hung with sinners, and He was the most perfect thing on the face of the earth. God doesn’t want us to refuse to give people our companionship and love  just because they aren’t perfect. He wants the opposite.

Our problem is that we cling to a stubborn view of God. We just don’t want to change. I have discussed this countless times with other people, and they don’t share my view. All they do is shrug and say, “I just think people need to know they’re wrong.”

No, they don’t need to know they’re wrong! And you definitely don’t have the right to tell them they’re wrong. If they ask for your opinion, fine. Explain why you think they are wrong. But we are way too eager to volunteer our advice.

It’s different if you are a pastor. Pastors are trying to shepherd a flock of people, so they need to get the Word out and guide their congregations. Pastors are supposed to say, “Hey look, these are the things God has warned us about. He has warned us that we will not live a long life if we continue to do these things. Do these things and you will be burdened by your sins. Eventually you will be burdened with death. Be aware of sin, and do not weary of doing good things.”

But even though you’ll hear pastors remind their flocks of this, I guarantee you will not hear a lot of messages about the speck and the plank. You won’t! Nobody wants to talk about that. Nobody wants to think about the plank in their own eye, even though Jesus told us, “Remove the plank from your own eye before you try to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

People don’t want to talk about that, because it is way too close to home. So they’ll ignore it. In their selfishness, they’ll say, “I don’t want to find the plank in my eye, because I want to feel good about myself.”

If you want to feel good about yourself, then get more intimate with Jesus! That’s the only way to do it! You’re not going to feel better about yourself by bringing someone else down. You won’t feel better about yourself by pointing to your neighbor and saying, “Look at him! He’s worse than me!” That is judgment, and judgment pushes people away from the Kingdom of God. I really am tired of seeing Christians judge.

I’m also tired of people assuming that I judge because I’m a Christian, and then getting on me for it. More on this next time. See you Wednesday.

2 thoughts on “Stubborn Christians

  1. “…That is judgment, and judgment pushes people away from the Kingdom of God. I really am tired of seeing Christians judge. I’m also tired of people assuming that I judge because I’m a Christian, and then getting on me for it.”
    Very well said. The loud & judgmental drown out those who can accept and welcome all of God’s people. I’m pretty tired of it, too.
    I say a little prayer for you every time you take the mound. We love you, Jeremy! Peace, and go get ’em!

  2. Judgement has some serious side-effects, too: For one, we are declaring ourselves God, since He has said He is the one and only judge. Do we really want to be God? Satan did, and look how it turned out? Judging is rooted in pride, and God says He hates pride, and will oppose the proud . . . now we are really getting into a bad place. . . and . . . when you judge, be 100% assured, that you will be judged by the same measure, it is a spiritual law and truth. Good words, Jeremy. Go Giants!

Leave a Reply

