Home » Abundance » Building to Serve, Part 2

Building to Serve, Part 2

After I built the gymnasium, I saw it from the outside and remarked to my wife, “It looks like a church!”

There are so many ways I can serve God with this gym, but initially I was feeling guilty. I don’t want to be showy or gaudy or look like I’m trying to build some big compound. I didn’t build the gym in order to say, “Oh, look at me and what I have.” That’s not in my heart and it’s not why I did it. But those are always checks on my heart. I always ask myself why I’m doing something.

Generation Alive has a baseball team. Every time a player scores, they contribute 25 cents to Something to Eat. At the end of the year, when I come home, they’re busy packaging up meals. This is awesome! Now Generation Alive can have its events in my gym! I told the kids I want to have them over for a barbecue. I can have everything set up in the gym, and we can package meals and enjoy a barbecue.

This gym is big enough that we can host YWAM kids. I can tell them, “Throw those sleeping bags on the floor! I’ve got a whole space here for you guys, so stay if you need to stay.”

There are just so many positive things that can come out of this. We can do so much good with this gym, and knowing that, I’m okay with it. But when God has given you money, you have to be understanding of what you’re doing with it. Why are you doing what you do? The question has to be on your heart. You have to be aware. There’s a lot of pressure that comes with money, but I think that if your intimacy is with Christ, then He gives you the ability to be responsible with the gift you’ve been given.

I confided in a friend, “Sometimes I feel bad.” And he told me, “I understand what you’re going through, and you have to get past it. Do you think the Devil wants you to live in guilt over your money? Absolutely he does! He wants you to be distracted with guilt. Now he’s getting your eyes off of God and onto an idol. Now you feel bad about what God has given you, and you’re not fulfilling God’s purpose.”

Whatever God has blessed you with, don’t feel bad about it. Just ask God what He wants you to do with it. See you Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “Building to Serve, Part 2

  1. I think the story of the rich young man and Jesus is very clearly about possessions, and I haven’t got any of those, except for mountains of books. And books are pretty worthless. So in a sense, this passage doesn’t really challenge me.

    But you do, Jeremy. I read your posts and I am so struck by how incredibly generous you are with your time. God has given all of us life, and each life is a measure of time. Some have more time than others, sure, but even the longest-lived among us don’t have much. I am incredibly selfish with my time. You devote so much time in order to help establish the kingdom of God on Earth. I admire your generosity so much. I feel the Kingdom is truly within you, and is spilling out around you. I am taking the lesson here, and asking God what He wants me to do with the time He has given me.

  2. Sounds like Jeremy you are motivated to serve the Lord with the gifts and talents He has given you. As you keep examining your motives I believe the Holy Spirit will lead and guide you especially since you have such a willing spirit to be used. Continue to listen to His leading and be sensitive to that and stay in the Word! The Bible says “to whom much is given, much is required” (that’s not always about money, either!) and when we realize and rest in the knowledge that we are created for His purposes, it brings such joy and peace into our lives. To God be the glory.
    God bless!

Leave a Reply

