Home » Abundance » Prosperity, Contentment, and Hope

Prosperity, Contentment, and Hope

I don’t look at someone who makes $30,000 a year and think that they’re a charity case. They’re not! But a lot of wealthy people do think that way. They’ll look at someone in that income bracket and say things like, “Oh, man, you need help,” or, “Good thing I didn’t make choices like that.”

Can you believe that? I know that’s the wrong view. It’s possible to live on $30,000 a year and have everything you need. And if you feel like you have everything you need, or if you feel like you have everything you can imagine needing, then you understand prosperity. You’re content! You know that it’s okay.

I don’t mean to say that everyone making $30,000 a year is prosperous and content. Honestly, if someone asked me, “Could you live off $30,000 a year?” I would have to reply, “No, I couldn’t.” Not with three sons. I really couldn’t. But when I was in Double-A in Wichita, I made $600 a month and I lived just fine. So at that time, I could. I really could. It was okay!

I’m telling you man, you can’t go around looking at people’s incomes and say, poor them. You can’t decide to feel sorry for people based on what they make. Look at them first. Are they happy? Are they smiling? Then they are content! It’s okay!

We’ve got the wrong idea of prosperity. Prosperity is not financial. Prosperity is life. Prosperity is wholeness. Prosperity is joy.

A prosperous life, for me, is to see my kids grow up to be respectful people, honoring their mother and their father. I want my boys to honor their mom. Not fear her. Honor her. I want them to serve her. (That’s partly my job. They’ll learn that by seeing me serve her.) Prosperity, for me, is knowing that my wife loves me. She doesn’t hate me, she loves me. My kids love me. They don’t fear me, they love me. My friends and I have a good time. The bills are paid. These are all reasons why I know I’m a prosperous man.

And there’s just one other thing. There’s the promise of the resurrection. That’s hope. A prosperous life is a hopeful life, and the resurrection is our hope.

It’s just like God to set things up that way. He created our hope. He hasn’t fulfilled His promise yet for a reason, but we are living on that hope. We are always anticipating. We just know that there’s got to be something better. When you ask someone, “How’s your life?” and they say, “Perfect,” they’re not telling the truth. I promise you that. Nobody’s life is perfect, because hope hasn’t arrived.

Don’t worry if things aren’t perfect. Not everything’s going to be perfect, because it’s not meant to be. We’re meant to feel anticipation, because we’re hoping for God. Deep in our souls, we know something isn’t right, not just yet. Deep in our souls, we know He’s coming. I know there are people who suffer depression because they’re not fulfilled, but be comforted. We’re not meant to be fulfilled yet, and that’s okay.

See you Wednesday.

4 thoughts on “Prosperity, Contentment, and Hope

  1. Great post – a very good reminder of perspective!

    Tough night out there. I can only imagine how frustrating it was not getting that call! As it often is in life, things don’t always go our way – what matters is that we are actively dependent on Him no matter the circumstances, in high and in low, and I would encourage you to emulate Him in all you do.

    And hey, it’s baseball! You’ll get some calls and you won’t get others – it was a great pitch! You can’t do much better than that. The command and speed looked great out there, and we got the win (good work by Clay). I’m sure there were and will be opportunities for you to pick him up when he’s in trouble too…and that’s the Gospel at work!

    Thanks again for sharing!

  2. Great word! There is such truth in being content while having hope and faith; sometimes we get focused on a dream and forget to rest in Him while on the path to that dream. God is good and thanks again for letting Him use you.

  3. I love this post. I don’t think it would be possible for me to put more hope in the resurrection. The life God has given us — a beautiful planet, endless opportunities to love and be loved, all the great variety in human culture (our sport, our art, our food, our laughter, etc.) — it’s all so awesome. It’s such a gift! And if you aren’t completely blown away by this planet, or even if you are, there are galaxies and star factories and mysteries galore in this universe. Just being alive is knowing blessings shaken out and overflowing. Really, more blessings that one consciousness can absorb.

    In my experience, life is not perfect because of pain and suffering, and above all, death. As beautiful and extraordinary and bountiful as life is, I find I can never be truly content because of the pain I see — madness and neglect and cruelty and war, and just simple human *want* that would be so easy to erase if we would all pull together and commit ourselves to doing it. And even if I can find some place of personal contentment in the midst of so much creature suffering, it’s always temporary because loved ones die, and that hurts.

    I don’t know how I could embrace a life filled with so much suffering without the resurrection. We focus so much on Jesus’ act of salvation. We’re so scared of God’s judgment even while claiming that God is love. Why not remember that Jesus’ pain and death were followed by His resurrection? You don’t get one without the other. It’s a whole package. Can you imagine how much I love Jesus? He came all the way back to us. He showed us resurrection. He gave us hope in the midst of pain and death! I mean, Hallelujah! Am I right? Is there a word big enough to praise Him? !!!

  4. Jeremy, just discovered this site. This is so awesome and awe inspiring.
    I am so blessed to be caring for Larisa and I look forward to meeting you in person at your third childs’ birth(hopefully it will work out and prayers that it will!)

    Dr Fine, Spokane

Leave a Reply

