Home » Church » The Secret Is Love

The Secret Is Love

Because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed. John 20:29

Jesus knew how hard it would be for us to believe without seeing. It’s as if he told us, “I know it’s going to be hard to do. I know it is. I know this is going to be really, really difficult. But when your soul feels real love, the love I’ve showed you, you’re going to be okay. You won’t miss it that you didn’t see Me, or walk around Palestine with me. It won’t matter that you didn’t see the miracles with your own eyes. You won’t miss it at all, because your soul will crave My love. And when you accomplish just a little part of loving others the way I love you, it’ll feel so good to your soul that faith will seem easy. You’re going to believe in Me.”

And I think that that’s what happens when you get together with other people and help build His kingdom.

When you love like Jesus, you will feel so good. You’ll realize His love. You’ll tell people, “This love I feel is not of this world. It’s like music. My soul connects with it, and it’s hooked. My soul knows it’s real. Somehow, I don’t know, I’ve never seen Jesus, but I feel Him. And now I know what my soul craves. I know why I’m here. I know peace.”

Part of the miracle is you’ll have peace in a world that doesn’t enjoy much peace.

There’s a lot of turmoil here. There’s a lot of second-guessing. And there’s a lot of selfishness. People don’t know what’s right and wrong, so they’re doing what’s right for them. They don’t have that peace that says, “This is right. Jesus is right.” They haven’t found that peace, so they become scared. They don’t know what’s really going on, so they become selfish and they say, “Well, this is right for me. Since I don’t know what’s right and wrong, I’m going to do what’s right for my own little piece of the world.”

I think that’s why Jesus left us with the example of His love. I mean, loving like Jesus is it. It’s the gig. I think it is the secret, man. It’s the secret to the church doing things the right way. The church is the secret of God, and the secret to the church’s existence is to love like Jesus.

Those who have found Jesus get it. We’ve got that inner peace. Sure we’ll fail. We’ll mess up. We can be selfish at times. We’re human beings.

But we get it. See you Saturday.

2 thoughts on “The Secret Is Love

  1. Jeremy! This may sound a little odd but I will say it anyway because I can’t help but care. Can you talk to Tim. He seems so lost right now. And I am not talking about talking to him about pitching, either. My mom always says when you are despairing and troubled and feel so much weight on your shoulders give your troubles and your pain up to Jesus. He wants to help but you have to ask him. I understand if you would feel uncomfortable doing it. I’m not great at talking religion to somebody who may or may not be religious also. But I feel that maybe somebody who knows him could say something. Thanks for reading!

  2. I really don’t know which part of this post blows me away more. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the resurrection of Jesus. I’ve been imagining what that was like for the people who loved him and saw him die. I imagine their grief, and then how they must have felt when he came back, the peace and the joy that they obviously felt.

    I think our loved ones come back all the time, but thanks to our limited sensing ability, we can’t see them or touch them or talk to them. When we can feel them with us, it’s because of their love for us and our love for them. It’s like we can’t see them, but we can experience them. How does this work? The secret is love!

    And it soothes the aching heart, it really does. In fact, you say it’s like music, and that is the best of metaphors. Our souls recognize something in the right music, right? Our souls connect to that something. It’s the same when a loved one who has died comes back to soothe our aching hearts. We don’t see them, but we connect. And it’s love that makes that possible. It’s love that makes us “realize.” That is such a great choice of words!

    That’s why I know the secret is love. Jesus loved us so much that he came back. His love is so amazing that He came all the way back. His beloved friends didn’t just experience Him. It took some time to cut through the haze that is our seeing and hearing, but He did it, and they saw Him and ate with Him and talked to Him. What a discovery! What a thing to learn! No wonder they could do miracles! No wonder they went everywhere to talk about it! How could you keep something like that to yourself? It is such good news!

    No one loves like Jesus. I think it’s love that lets the dead come back to comfort us, and He loves so much that He came all the way back. He literally resurrected, that’s how much he loves us.

    I’m probably not making any sense. It’s hard to find the right words for this, and yet you did. This might be the best post you ever wrote! The music, the connecting, the realizing, the secret, the peace in times of turmoil, it’s all here and I get so much from it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

