Home » Fulfillment » Selfless Like Jesus

Selfless Like Jesus

There’s no better way to reflect God’s love than by helping someone in need. Why is this the best way? Because you have to be selfless to help someone in need. In other words, you have to be like Jesus.

Jesus! When He came down, man, everything He did was a selfless act. He served everybody! He didn’t have to. He didn’t have to do any of the things that He did when He came here. He really didn’t even have to leave heaven. It was the ultimate selfless act for Him come down here.

Can you imagine what He must have been thinking? I can! I’m sure it was something like, “I have to come to this little planet here, and help these people? You’re telling me that I need to come here, to this planet, where they’re going to deny me, persecute me, judge me, run me to the edges of cliffs, and try to kill me all the time? Uh, really? That’s real fun.” You know?

He knew it was going to be hard times for Him, but He did it. It was a selfless act.

He looked at coming here and said, “You know what? I love these people, man! This is why God, my Father, created life. He created life for the purpose of relationship. And I’m going to go down there and reestablish that relationship. I’m going to restore it. I’m going to feed the hungry, and I’m going to set the captives free.”

It feels good to feed the hungry. Ask these Whitworth University students, who took a day last fall and packaged meals for the hungry.

And that’s where I think Matthew 25 comes in. That’s where Jesus separates the sheep from the goats. You know the parable. “When I was hungry, you fed me. When I was thirsty, you gave me something to drink. When I was in prison, you visited me.”

That’s huge! Think about it. It’s so big! “When I was hungry, you fed me.”

He was selfless to come here, and He promises to remember every one of our selfless acts. We may not understand why there is hunger in the first place. I don’t think we can truly understand why, because it’s not our call, it’s God’s. But that shouldn’t paralyze us, because we do have a calling. We’re called to be selfless like Jesus.

Jesus was selfless to come here, and He did it because He loves us. He shows us how to do the same thing. He shows us how to be selfless just like Him, and He inspires us to do it with love. “When I was hungry, you fed me.”

And here’s the greatest thing of all. When we’re selfless like Jesus, out of love we find fulfillment. Being selfless like Jesus brings the fulfillment that we crave. We may not even know we crave it, but we discover that we do, just as soon as we experience it. Fulfillment in Jesus is exactly what our souls crave.

And when you can say that you helped someone who was hungry by giving them something to eat? That’s when you’ll know.

One thought on “Selfless Like Jesus

  1. JEREMY: very well said. You have been given many talents by God & one of them has you in the public eye. I know God is so proud of what you are doing with your time away from work … Spreading His Great news & Doing what He told us to do not just hearing it. Keep up the good work. You are so right, we have a very active local homeless charity in our church & we provide lunch (in co-op) w/ other churches in the area every day & 1x a month a hot meal & clothes. It feels good to give back. I am so, so blessed. Praise God from whom all blessings flow. Kelly

Leave a Reply

