Home » God » A Selfish Thing

A Selfish Thing

I don’t think our flesh necessarily wants to be warmed by the hot water of the Spirit. That’s not the first place it goes. The flesh is a very selfish thing. In our flesh, we get irritated and we want to snap at somebody. In our flesh, we think it will feel good to let somebody have it. In our flesh, we’re just thinking in the short term. The problem is, when you do this you’re hurting somebody!

But the flesh doesn’t care about that, does it? The flesh says, “Sure it hurts someone, but it gets the irritation out of me.” You’re getting your opinion out. You’re telling somebody what they really need to hear. You’re snapping at them because you want payback. That’s what your flesh is doing.

Meanwhile, the Spirit of God is saying, “Wait, no! Vengeance is mine. Vengeance comes from me. You don’t get to take part in that. You don’t deserve to take part in that! If I want to have vengeance, I’ll have vengeance. That is not on you.”

The Spirit of God is saying, “You are to love your neighbor as yourself. That’s what you’re supposed to do.”

The Spirit of God is saying, “You don’t have to go ahead and tear into that person just because he tore into you. Instead, how about if you just love on him? You know what? You’ll feel better!”

The truth is, even if you snap at somebody because your short-term calculation says you’ll feel good for doing it, you’re wrong. The reality is, when you tear into somebody in anger or frustration, all you do is create a mess. Every married person knows what I mean. When you snap at your wife, you’re in for three hours of talk time. You’re tired and you have to go talk it out in a room with the door closed so the kids can’t hear. You have to do this when you’re emotionally stressed. The two of you have to endure three hours of dialogue because you hurt your wife when you tore into her. You left her feeling stranded. Her soul hurts and she doesn’t like you. You had to snap at her, and now the two of you have to endure all of that.

Why do that? Why snap at her, when you can just look at her and say, “You know what? I’m a little frustrated right now, but I want to tell you I love you. I’m upset, and this is why, but please know that I love you and I care about you. I’m not angry. I just want to let you know why I got a little frustrated.” I bet if you did that, the whole conflict would be over in ten minutes and you’d both feel great!

But the flesh doesn’t think like that. The flesh is saying, “Get her!” Meanwhile, the Spirit of God is saying, “Man, love her.”

Most people are in prison right now because their anger took over from their ability to love. They aren’t in prison for loving somebody. They aren’t in prison for saying, “I loved this guy so much I shot him.” Bottom line, the flesh is not good. It is not a good thing. I think it’s a very selfish thing, and selfishness just isn’t a good deal.

See you Wednesday.

2 thoughts on “A Selfish Thing

  1. I know this is a serious subject but I did have to laugh about “enduring the three hours of talk time”. Who is doing all the talking???? It isn’t always the best choice to talk when you all are emotionally drained (speaking from experience) but I understand that sometimes things cannot always wait for a “good time.” However if you are walking in the Spirit I believe you will be led to pray first before talking and will not use God’s Word as a club but allow the Holy Spirit to lead the conversation. There is just something about holding hands and praying with your spouse that pours “hot water” on the situation. And even though the flesh wants to strike out with words and accustions, the Spirit brings about a humbled heart and healing. You are absolutely right in saying that there is no good thing about our flesh and when you get right down to it our hearts are deceitfully wicked too. I cringe when people say to be led by your heart, that’s dangerous due to the fickleness of our emotions/heart. Keep allowing that hot water of the Spirit to flow! God bless you and your wife.

    Go Giants!

Leave a Reply

