Home » Leadership » Addicted to Servant Leadership

Addicted to Servant Leadership

Here’s your mentality when you’re a servant leader. You say, “I’m going to serve somebody with my leadership skills.”

That’s the whole concept of being a servant leader. You lead with the understanding that you’re going to serve somebody else with your leadership skills. And then the transformation comes easy. Now you enjoy your job.

You’re not just going through the motions. You’re not just saying, “Well, I’m making tons of money, so I guess I’ll keep doing it.”  That doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me. It’s not necessary to live that way!  Ask yourself, why do you do your job? If your only reason is that you make a lot of money doing it, then I don’t understand. I mean, making a lot of money is great. That’s great! But are you going home, looking at yourself in the mirror, and feeling miserable? There’s no point in that.

In March 2012, Headwaters Natural Products will launch a bottled tea that will protect the Amazon and fight human trafficking.

Check out those people that enjoy their jobs because they’re helping. Think about it. They go home fulfilled. As a result, they’re better husbands and wives. They’re better parents. They’re better in their families. All because they’re fulfilled in their jobs. All because they’re not just working to make ends meet. They’re not just working to make tons of money. They’re doing that, sure, but they’re also working because it helps other people.

Here’s the consequence of servant leadership: your soul literally is healed. Your soul is healed simply through helping other people. You feel better as a person. You know exactly why you walk this earth. There’s a reason for you to be here, and you feel like you’re fulfilling your mission. You feel a sense of accomplishment. It’s addicting!

We’re starting to figure it out. Now we are developing companies that are committed to a cause, and we’re finding out that when we do, people want to buy our products. We’re founding companies, producing goods and services, and creating jobs, for the purpose of service.

This isn’t driven by greed. It’s driven by serving-oriented people. You’re starting to see a new generation of people who are saying, “We’re tired of just making money for ourselves. We’re tired of all these things. You know what? I’ve got a gift. I’ve got a gift of marketing, or I’ve got a gift of invention. I’ve been given a mind that can design a product, or a concept, or an idea. I take pleasure in that, personal pleasure, and I take pride in it. I even make a living doing it. But above all, I know that it’s going to help somebody else, and this is why I want to continue doing it.”

You see, it’s addicting. What happens once you get past the whole do-it-for-yourself mentality? What happens when you start a business or take on a job simply because you’re helping somebody else? What happens when you do this, and your concept works? You want to continue to do it! Try it out. Leave a comment and share your experiences. And see you Wednesday.

4 thoughts on “Addicted to Servant Leadership

  1. Jeremy,

    I have always admired your commitment to both your Christian faith and the causes you support. I have been following you on Twitter for a while, so I am especially aware of your dedication to NFS. I began reading some of the info you posted about human trafficking around the time that a professor from my university (also, incidentally, a local pastor) happened to contact me about wardrobing his short called “HARK.” The film follows the path of a man who has fallen on hard times as he is confronted by the choice to become involved with child sex trafficking – or not.

    I just received the link to the trailer and wanted to share it with you: http://harkthemovie.com/. I am both proud to have been a part of it and feel edified by the experience – no matter how relatively “small” my involvement. I look forward to seeing its impact as the producers share the film with organizations and festivals. The point is this: I’m totally with you on the service thing… It is so fulfilling. That’s why the sentiment “it’s better to give than to receive” is one of my very favorites.

    Thanks for sharing your passion with us! It’s truly inspiring. God bless you!

    Grace

  2. Jeremy you are so right! Recently I’ve been feeling down at work and then within the last few weeks I’ve done a few things at work that have hopefully helped other people out and I do feel better even though we haven’t necessarily seen results…yet although we may soon. But I have been feeling more positive at work because of it. 🙂

  3. Truth,

    working a job because you are passionate about what you are doing is huge in living a fulfilling life. It effects every aspect of your life. Especially when the purpose that is given to you by that job is one that is far more important that providing you with a pay check.

    With you being so drawn to the subject of vocation I would highly recommend you reading a book called “Let Your Life Speak” if you haven’t already. It goes even deeper by talking about the dangers of working a job because you feel like you “ought to.” Even if the “ought to job” is right and moral it doesn’t necessarily mean that it is YOUR God given purpose based on YOUR God given strengths and weaknesses. The book was a huge part of me deciding to work for Youthfront.

    “The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”
    ― Frederick Buechner

Leave a Reply

