Home » Baseball » In His Hands

In His Hands

Dear Readers,

I’m just putting the finishing touches on a Christmas series I’ve created for you where I reflect on why we’re here, alive, on this planet, and what we’re meant to do with our lives. That will launch Friday, and in the meantime, I thought I’d share one of my favorite posts from last December. Never forget to pray. No matter what life throws your way, you’re good as long as you’re in His hands:

The peace I felt as I stood on the mound in Game 6 of the 2010 NLCS was, in one word, amazing. Amazing. It’s the peace that can only come from God.

I don’t think there’s a formula for reaching that kind of peace. I think it all comes down to Who you believe in. Those who believe only in themselves will never find that peace, not consistently. We don’t have 100% confidence in ourselves because we fail ourselves so much.

When you face a challenge, you’re afraid you’re going to let yourself down. You’re saying to yourself, “Oh my gosh, I don’t want to fail.” And then when you do come through, the fear of success kicks in. Now you’re saying to yourself, “Oh my gosh, can I do it again? I don’t know if I can do that again.” You see? Even when you believe in yourself, you have a higher increase of fear of failure and fear of success. It’s an ongoing battle.

October 22, 2010 – Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images North America

The difference for me comes from believing in the Almighty God. He has created everything. He created baseball and He created the laws of physics and how a ball moves. In the Psalms David said, “You have been my confidence since I was a youth.” So I lean on God even for my own confidence.

I’ve dealt with times when I have tried to take it away from God. I’ve wanted to just trust myself. I’ve said things like, “If I were God, this is how I’d do it, so this is what I’ve got to try to do.” You know, it’s never really worked! But you try, because you get desperate.

Still, I know nothing happens without the signoff of the Almighty God. If God wants you in the game, you’re going to be in the game. Period. Maybe that’s what happened in Game 6. I’d been sitting for 16 days, and then all of a sudden I was in. Bochy put me in that game. Had he planned to pitch me? I really don’t know. Maybe all of a sudden he thought, “Oh, this is a perfect spot for Affeldt, he’s in.” That might have been all that God needed to do.

What did I do? I prayed! I literally said, “God, this is the day that You have said, Jeremy, you are to pitch.” I leaned on Him. I yearned for Him. I said, “God, the peace that you’re going to give me, let it surpass my understanding.” I prayed, “God, I need Your peace. This is a really chaotic situation, this is an intense situation, and the only way to come through is to have the peace that I cannot give myself. I need You to give it to me.” And He did.

That’s what God does for people that ask for it, and truly believe it.  See you Tuesday.

2 thoughts on “In His Hands

  1. The faith walk is not at all boring, is it? No matter how many curve balls (if you don’t mind my using a little baseball terminology 😉 are thrown at you, the peace of God sees you through. It is amazing! I love the verse you shared from Philippians 4 it is one of those verses that has just spoken to me time and time again and if you don’t mind I’m going to share it here in case someone reading this today needs to hear it.
    “Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say rejoice! Let your gentleness be known to all men the Lord is at hand. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; And the peace of God which passes all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:4-7

    It’s true, God is faithful to those who believe and even when doubts begin to creep in, He even knows that, too and helps us through those times as well. We serve an AWESOME GOD. And may the God of peace be with you and your family throughout this Christmas season, God bless!

  2. Wow. I hope and pray that my favorite Giant reads your blog. I pray for him daily. You’re a breath of fresh of fresh air Jeremy! God bless you for talking the talk AND walking the walk. I’m hoping that you continue to be a guiding light to the Giants who don’t know Jesus.

Leave a Reply

