Home » Discipleship » Sacrifice

Sacrifice

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Do you see someone skilled in their work?
They will serve before kings. (Proverbs 22:29)

As we continue our preparations for our Something to Eat event, I thought I’d re-post something I wrote last January. It’s about sacrifice.

Sacrifice is an intimidating word, but I’m here to tell you that it is a major component of success. God wants you to give some of what you earn to help others. That’s your sacrifice. He wants you to give cheerfully, but that shouldn’t be hard. After all, he’s promised to give you what you need.

It’s amazing, when you think about it, the way God has made the world. He doesn’t need people to push the Gospel. He could do it however He wants to do it. But that’s the way He set things up. He wants people to bring the Gospel to the nations. And I think that God’s a genius! He wants us to use our own resources to love our neighbor, because that is how we learn to serve.

He knows that we humans come out of the womb as selfish individuals. When my son was just a few months old, he did not say “I love you” to me. When he was hungry, he would look at me and scream in my face. “I don’t care what you do, feed me.” It’s a selfish thing, right? Honestly, we do not have a natural ability to sacrifice and serve.

The well that Generation Alive built in Kizaara, Uganda.

God also did not have to use finances to make this world work, but He did. To love your neighbor as yourself, you have to have finances. You can’t get a plane ticket for free. You can’t say, “Beam me up, Scotty,” and just all of a sudden be somewhere. God can transport you if He wants to, but I don’t see that happening. So we need finances to push the Gospel.

For example, I love good drinking water, so I want my neighbor to have good drinking water. I could say, “God, please let a well suddenly appear in this town,” and He could do it. But that’s not what happens. We need people to dig wells, and we need people to fund wells. We need finances.

And why did God set it up that way? It’s a sacrifice we have to make. We sacrifice some of the money we earn to help someone else. We learn to overcome our selfish ways. We learn to serve.

I pray for finances because I believe that the more money I can make, the more dents I can make in helping other people. I can help fund projects. Or I can help by networking. You know, the Bible says that your gifts, your ability to succeed, will place you before kings. In other words, my gifts give me the ability to stand in front of really important people. So I want to succeed because I want to be able to reach important people. I want to stand before people that have done great things and say, “I need your help, help me in this.”

I pray for that, and well, how often has it been that I get to stand before kings now?

So why not pray for finances and pray for success, if you have a heart for sacrifice? I pray for finances, I pray for my gifts, and I pray that my abilities will increase so that I can increase financially.  If that’s truly my heart, and I truly exercise that heart, then God will grant my prayers.

2 thoughts on “Sacrifice

  1. hi to all jeremyaffeldt.wordpress.comers this is my first post and thought i would say a big hello to yous –
    speak soon
    garry

Leave a Reply

