Home » Fulfillment » Selfless Like Jesus

Selfless Like Jesus

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Last time I finished by observing that there’s no better way to reflect God’s love than by helping someone in need. Why is this the best way? Because you have to be selfless to help someone in need. You have to be like Jesus.

Jesus! When He came down, man, everything He did was a selfless act. He served everybody! He didn’t have to do any of that stuff. He really didn’t have to leave heaven. It was the ultimate selfless act to even come down here.

Can you imagine what He must have been thinking? I’m sure it was something like, “I have to come to this little planet here, and help these people? I mean, they’re going to deny me, persecute me, judge me, run me to the edges of cliffs, and try to kill me all the time? Uh, really? That’s real fun.” You know? But He did it. It was a selfless act.

He walked out there and said, “You know what? I love these people, man! This is why God, my Father, created life. He did it for relationship. And I’m going to go down there and reestablish that relationship, and restore it. I’m going to set the captives free and feed the hungry.”

It feels good to Feed the Hunger, as these Whitworth University students learned.

And that’s where I think Matthew 25 comes in. That’s where He separates the sheep from the goats. You know the parable. “When I was hungry, you fed me. When I was thirsty, you gave me something to drink. When I was in prison, you visited me.”

That’s huge! Think about it. It’s so big! “When I was hungry, you fed me.”

I don’t think we can truly understand why there is hunger in the first place, because it’s not our call. Our call is to do one thing and one thing only.

“When I was hungry, you fed me.”

And that’s what brings fulfillment. It brings the fulfillment that we crave. It’s what our souls crave.

And when you can sit there and say that you helped someone who was hungry by giving them Something to Eat? That’s when your soul will be satisfied.

One thought on “Selfless Like Jesus

  1. It’s a blessing for sure to be able to fulfill what the Lord has told us to do.

    Here is a verse that came to mind as I was reading your post:

    And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. Colossians 3:17

    To God be the glory! Have a great week and may God continue to work in you and through you as you abide faithful to Him!

Leave a Reply

