Home » Jesus » Judge Not…

Judge Not…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Judge not, and you shall not be judged. Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven. Luke 6:37

We all have a deviant lifestyle. We all live in ways that fall outside the norm. We all have our own issues. And that’s why I think that judgments don’t need to happen.

I think it is okay to recognize sin. We don’t have to encourage it, and we don’t have to agree with it. But face it: we all have our own sins. That’s what we need to recognize.

I don’t see one place where Jesus said, “You know what? Your lifestyle stinks and you’re going to go to hell for it.” I never saw it. I never saw it.

Here’s what He said, “Judge not, and you shall not be judged.”

We need to recognize that there was already a death because of sin. So we don’t need to judge people. We need to love people. We need to love people because that’s what Jesus did. Think about it! He was perfect in everything He did. He was perfect, and He loved the sinner.

11 thoughts on “Judge Not…

  1. I’ve been working on this a lot lately. I certainly don’t sit around and judge everyone that passes by me, but I need to remind myself all the time that even the slightest bit of judgement is wrong and it’s a habit I need to break. Instead of judging I now try to help out, offer encouragement, or try to imagine what it’s like to be in their shoes, etc…it’s a freeing feeling.

  2. Jeremy,
    Are you talking about judgement in the church with believers or outside the church and unbelievers? I’m a little confused about that. So, I’m addressing both in this reply.

    Please read 1 Corinthians 5 (judgement in the church to bring about repentance and restoration) and 1 Corinthians 2:13-15
    Also Galatians 6:1 says “Brethren, if a man is overtaken in any trespass, you who are spiritual restore such a one in a spirit of gentleness, considering yourself lest you also be tempted.

    All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitble for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3:16-17

    Sometimes correction seems like judgement but I would hope that anything we say and do would be motivated by love to restore and be led by the Holy Spirit. Just as in Galatians 6:1 “considering yourself lest you also be tempted.” When you read the Epistles they are full of correction and instruction on how to live a godly, Christ honoring life. And sometimes there is judgment and chastisement when we choose to continually disobey God’s Word.

    Outside the church we are not to judge, if unbelievers have rejected Jesus Christ they are already judged but we are to love them in hopes that that they will have a change of mind and come to repentance (from going their own way to going Christ’s way and receiving the free gift of salvation).

    It is true, Jesus loved the sinners through His actions and His words and made a way for them to escape the snares of sin and the penalty that it brings; but to the self righteous religious leaders He had nothing good to say in hopes that they would turn back to God the Father. And many did! Some secretly followed Jesus, and the Bible does name Nicodemus as one who believed and Joseph of Arimathea is also mentioned in each of the gospels. Both of these men were highly regarded in the Jewish Council. So there is hope for everyone!
    I think it’s important for people to know that God will judge sin (rejection of His Son) and it’s better to get it taken care of now than to wait until it’s too late…

    I battle the flesh, we all do – I can not live a righteous life without Christ, but I’m trying to be diligent to put the Word into practice (2 Peter 1:3-11). I’m not so sure that I agree with your saying we all live a deviant lifestyle, that means I continually practice living in a sinful way. I would hope I’m walking in the spirit and having the mind of Christ and maturing. And as we mature we see the ugliness of sin in our own lives and through the washing by the Word corrections take place to please the Lord. (sanctification – one of those Christianese words!)
    God’s Word is a manual for life and it works when it is applied. But it takes practice – just like pitching, and knowing your opposition. Ok, I’ve said way too much!

  3. Natalie
    I agree with you when it comes to correction. I feel we tend to judge wrongly without knowledge. We tend to judge by appearance not with understanding. Judging within the church and outside it should be done with righteous judgement meaning make sure your life is cleaned up before passing judgement. Most people have a hard time judging in love. The only way to judge. This type of judging meaning correction. Judging with accusation is where we run into problems. Example being Jesus and the prostitute when he said “neither do I accuse you stop sinning and go on your way”. The only true righteous judge didn’t even accuse but corrected. By saying deviant I mean we all have issues with sin. To think we don’t (Romans 7) it’s easy to become self righteous and judge all the more without love. We are made righteous because of Jesus who took our judgment in the greatest act of love and compassion by dying for us.

  4. Hey Jeremy,
    So true! We can easily become prideful and self righteous and that is why it’s so important to examine ourselves first. (gotta get rid of the log and plank before we try to take the little tiny sliver out of someone elses!) I think we have a tendency to be much more lenient on ourselves than others when it comes to judging, don’t ya think?!! I hope I didn’t come across that I don’t have issues with sin, that is not the case at all. 1 John says if we say we are without sin we lie and the truth is not in us!! I find the longer I walk with the Lord the more I see the ugliness of sin IN me (usually it’s the attitudes of the heart etc. not so much the visible sins) and the Holy Spirit is so faithful to let me know it and the refining process can be quite the eye opener and a bit on the painful side (spiritually speaking). And when the Holy Spirit puts His finger on something, I’m accountable to the Lord to obey.
    The only righteousness that I can brag on in me is Christ! And I’m so grateful that I have an Advocate with the Father because ONLY Jesus is righteous and only He gives me right standing with our Heavenly Father. To God be all the glory!
    I appreciate you passion to share and I hope you do not mind my replying to your posts.

    Enjoyed the Friday night game against the Astros!! It was our first game in person this season! Exciting game and even better it was a win!!

  5. I don’t quite understand this “believer v. non-believer” stuff. Perhaps God is entitled to separate the masses into groups, but are we? If Christians don’t like being referred to as religious wingnuts or fundies, perhaps we can drop the whole secular/unbeliever/sinner labels. People should be regarded as individuals, and not as a mass group.

    Moreover, the whole “non-believer” thing can be deceptive, ya know? There are many people who believe God, but that belief may vary from person to person. I’ve seen Catholics referred to as non-believers, as well as others who don’t really tow the conservative political lines.

    Just food for thought.

  6. I love the analogy of fish, we don’t clean fish until we first catch them! In the same way, we need to let God first reel them in, just as they are!

Leave a Reply

