Home » Medium » Solus Christus, Part 3

Solus Christus, Part 3

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

When people see my tattoo, they ask, “What is that?” And I say, “It’s one of the Five Solas of church history.” And then they say, “What’s the big deal about that?”

Well, that question itself points to the big deal about my tattoo. We’ve forgotten the Five Solas! I think we’ve gotten away from church history. We’ve forgotten where things started. We’ve forgotten where things came from. We don’t remember who we were originally supposed to be. God created the church. It was designed to be the mystery of God.

I’ve done several studies of church history. I haven’t done an in-depth study, but I think I get the gist of it. And the Five Solas have always stood out for me. There’s Sola Gratia, by grace alone, Sola Fide, through faith alone, Soli Deo Gloria, for God’s glory alone, and Sola Scriptura, according to scripture alone. And then there’s Solus Christus, in Christ alone.

“Solus” means “solely,” or “alone,” so the Five Solas say something about our own individual journeys. My journey is different than the journey of the person next to me.  My journey is different than your journey. When you look at the Five Solas, you think, all right, what is my journey?

I would love to have tattoos of all Five Solas. I just don’t necessarily want to put a tattoo on every part of my body! So the one I chose had to have solid meaning about the journey that God has for me. And the Sola that jumps out and attacks me the most is Solus Christus. It sums up everything. Do I believe that Christ is the only way to God? Yes. I believe Christ is the way, the truth, and the life, and no man sees the Father except through Him.

When I do something, I do it with the understanding that I do it in Christ. When someone asks me, “What drives you to be who you are,” the answer is Christ. He’s the reason I do the things I do. I try to view things the way that He wants me to view things. I didn’t hang with the guy every day like his disciples got to do, but I have the Spirit inside of me, which now puts Christ in me. Solus Christus. It’s in Christ that I do the things I do.

I know I will stand before the throne of God one day and He will say, “Jeremy, sometimes you were wrong.” But I’m willing to accept that. It’s not like we go through life depending on an audible voice from God on every single topic. We read in Luke that Peter, John, and James went up on the mountain with Jesus to pray, and a cloud came down and out of the cloud God spoke and said, “This is My beloved Son. Hear him!” And we don’t hear that. We don’t all get that opportunity.

But because of who I am in Christ, I ask for wisdom, and in Christ, I do what seems right. I try to. I try to do things with an authority that says, “This is how Christ would do it.”

I have a few more things to tell you about the meaning of Solus Christus in my life. See you Tuesday.

4 thoughts on “Solus Christus, Part 3

  1. I’ve spent a lot of time trying to figure out if one of the Five Solas is right for me, and I can’t decide. Certainly not to the point of getting a tattoo! I’m sure as soon as the artist finished putting Sola Scriptura (I’d do that like an illuminated Bible) on some part of me, I’d say, “No, wait! It should be Soli Deo Gloria, in a banner emerging from Gabriel’s horn!”

    I never got a tattoo because I simply couldn’t decide on anything sufficiently meaningful. I had a friend with a Lion of Judah tattoo, and that was the one I thought I’d really like. But he already had it, and I couldn’t be a copycat, LOL!

  2. Hey Jeremy! I’ve been wanting to comment but really wanted to give more thought to what you’ve shared (thus the long comment to follow!!). It sounds like you’ve given a lot of thought into your tattoo and I’m trusting you prayed a lot about it too. Your choice of the “solas” is a good one and truly should sum up a Christian’s life. If we didn’t have Christ we’d have nothing! I never took latin so I’d never heard of the “solas” but after a bit of investigating I discovered when and where they were put into effect. It’s pretty recent history in light of how long it’s been since the church was birthed. I heard this once and it really stuck with me and it’s that the Old Testament is the New Testament concealed and the New Testament is the Old Testament revealed and I think that helps us to understand the mystery of the Church (Paul says in Colossians 1 that it’s been revealed to the saints). Without Christ there would be no church, just a lot of religion. I personally have a difficult time reading about church history or should I say religious history, it’s so sad. God hates discord among the brethren and that seems to be the main theme thoughout the centuries. (unless of course you read the Book of Acts, and even then the disagreements are resolved because of the leading of the Holy Spirit – that’s where we need to get back to and perhaps that is what you were suggesting!). One last thing and I’ll end this looong comment!! We may not hear God audibly say from heaven ” This is my beloved Son, hear Him” but we certainly have His Word and His Spirit so we do hear Him. Unfortunately the world chooses not to and many believers would rather tune Him out. But His voice is loud and clear if we choose to listen. To him that has an ear, let him hear…

    Fantastic series with the Brewers!! Very exciting and I loved that the last inning of games 2 and 3 were not torture for a change!! Have a great time in D.C. and perhaps you’ll get to pray for the president in person!! Wouldn’t that be cool, he needs Jesus. God bless and hope the series with the Phillies goes well! Go Giants!!

Leave a Reply

