Home » Church » The Secret Is Love

The Secret Is Love

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed. John 20:29

Jesus knew how hard it would be for us to believe without seeing. It’s as if he told us, “I know it’s going to be hard to do. I know it is. I know this is going to be really, really difficult. But when your soul feels real love, the love I’ve showed you, you’re going to be okay. You won’t miss it that you didn’t see Me, or walk around Palestine with me. It won’t matter that you didn’t see the miracles with your own eyes. You won’t miss it at all, because your soul will crave My love. And when you accomplish just a little part of loving others the way I love you, it’ll feel so good to your soul that faith will seem easy. You’re going to believe in Me.”

And I think that that’s what happens when you get together with other people and help build His kingdom. When you love like Jesus, you will feel so good. You’ll realize His love. You’ll tell people, “This love I feel is not of this world. It’s like music. My soul connects with it, and it’s hooked. My soul knows it’s real. Somehow, I don’t know, I’ve never seen Jesus, but I feel Him. And now I know what my soul craves. I know why I’m here. I know peace.”

Part of the miracle is you’ll have peace in a world that doesn’t enjoy much peace.

There’s a lot of turmoil here. There’s a lot of second-guessing. And there’s a lot of selfishness. People don’t know what’s right and wrong, so they’re doing what’s right for them. They don’t have that peace that says, “This is right. Jesus is right.” They haven’t found that peace, so they become scared. They don’t know what’s really going on, so they become selfish and they say, “Well, this is right for me. Since I don’t know what’s right and wrong, I’m going to do what’s right for my own little piece of the world.”

I think that’s why Jesus left us with the example of His love. I mean, loving like Jesus is it. It’s the gig. I think it is the secret, man. It’s the secret to the church doing things the right way. The church is the secret of God, and the secret to the church’s existence is to love like Jesus.

Those who have found Jesus get it. They’ve got that inner peace. Sure they’ll fail. They’ll mess up. They can be selfish at times. We’re human beings.

But they get it. See you Tuesday.

7 thoughts on “The Secret Is Love

  1. im so encouraged by your faith! thx for standing up for whats true. praying that God blesses you abundantly!

  2. Amen! Jeremy, you definitely have it right! What keeps me going is the love of Jesus and when I’m able to express that love to others by sharing His love through His Word and applying it in life situations there is a peace and a power that this world just doesn’t understand. The verse in Psalms 34 comes to mind when I was reading your post, “Taste and see that the Lord is good, blessed is the man that trusts in Him.” I can tell you’ve experienced that verse! It can be well with your soul even if it’s not with your circumstances because you have the Lord with you and He is good!
    Thank you for such encouraging words and enjoy your all-star break coming up!
    God bless!
    Natalie H

  3. Amen. Too many churches miss this simple fact these days and replace the love meant to be radiated outward with a totally inward focus.

  4. Jeremy, I’ve been reading your blog for awhile now, but I have only started commenting recently. Like I mentioned in a previous comment, something just clicks when I read your posts. Your message seems to reflect so much warmth, love, and energy…and for some reason, I just gravitate towards your words. Something connects. After I’m done reading though, I have this surge of energy and a feeling inside that I can’t quite explain, but soon enough, that feeling fades and I have no idea what to do next. I wish I knew how to preserve that feeling.

    My question to you– what advice do you have for new followers, or for people who want to learn more about church and Jesus? How do we make that leap? I find it hard as someone who never really grew up in a Christian home, and as someone who doesn’t have a strong Christian presence around in their daily life, to make that initial step. Although I have had personal morals that I have kept since I was young (I’m 25 now), I still feel as though I’m missing some structure…and faith is the missing piece. I realize that you may not have the answer, but I’m just curious about your views on this. Again, thanks for your blog…you are inspiring more people that you may realize.

Leave a Reply

