Home » Social Justice » Evangelism

Evangelism

How do you evangelize? I try to reflect the characteristics of God. When I’m around kids, or anyone really, I do what I think He would do. I love them, I feel joy around them, I’m happy around them, and I encourage them. These are all the things that I think Jesus did when He walked the streets.

A lot of times when people look at athletes, they think we might be puffed up and full of pride, so they don’t try to talk to us. Sometimes we can’t talk to them, because we have to focus on doing our jobs! But if I don’t have anything to do, I try to say hi to people in the ballpark, especially the kids, to let them know that we are human beings. I shake their hands and encourage them, I give them high fives, and I let them know that I’m real and I’m human and I hope they do well. Sometimes Dads ask if I have any advice for their sons, and I’ll tell them to dream. To dream really, really big.

I try to reflect Christ in a way that’s positive. I’m not necessarily there telling kids they need to accept Jesus as their savior. In a lot of circles, especially when you’re representing a sports team, it’s not really appropriate to talk about God. I do some evangelizing in certain circles, where it’s appropriate to do it without offending the people I work for. The Giants ask me to do things in the community, and I want to keep doing things in the community, so I want to make sure I exemplify the characteristics of Christ as much as possible. That way, people might follow me into other circles where they can hear me speak about my views of God and share theirs with me.

When I talk to kids at community functions, I really try to do the same thing. At the end of the summer I spoke at the high school graduation of a bunch of street kids at a homeless youth shelter. And I did that because I just wanted to love on them. I try as hard as I can to make sure that I ooze what I think Christ has told me to do. I try to have the aroma of Christ (2 Corinthians 2:15). And just through the aroma that I put off, I want these kids to feel good about who they are.

And I want them to come ask me what makes me different. And if they ask me, then I tell them that I’m trying to reflect the love that I’ve been given, and that’s the love of Jesus. And believe He’s my Savior. I believe He died for me, and I believe He gives me pure joy. And so I try to give that joy to them, as much as I possibly can.

7 thoughts on “Evangelism

  1. Thanks, Jeremy, for all you are doing. I’m a diehard Giants fan, father of two boys, and a High School Youth Pastor. It is encouraging to read about your faith and you wanting to be the hands of Christ. I will be at the game against the Dodgers next Thursday night, if I see you before the game I will make sure to say hi and Go Giants!

  2. Great article about being approachable and present in the moment for an opportunity for evangelism. very good indeed.

  3. Jeremy, Thanks so much for the continued encouragement! Its so great to hear how you are using where you’re at in life for God’s glory. Your faith and dedication to Christ is so uplifting. I got to meet you at the “on field photo day” back in May and you were so friendly and and fun to talk to. Thanks for sharing Christ’s love! God Bless & go Giants!

    -Magz

  4. Jeremy-
    I love what you do for your community and what you try to instill in young people. If only more athletes could follow your lead. I would love to know what church you are a member of. Do you ever give talks at church? Thanks for doing all that you do! Best of luck with the rest of the season & congrats on your newest family member.

    Go Giants!!!!!!

    Sincerely,

    Sandra M.

  5. I just wanted to give you a word of encouragement for the work you’re doing for the Kingdom. It’s such a breath of fresh air to see sports figures using their influence for good. I enjoy telling people about your commitment to Christ when they ask why I choose to wear a Giants relief pitcher’s jersey to the games. (Even to Game 5 in Arlington.) I love your passion for loving on young people. I think there is a rather large void of godly men willing to do that these days, and I admire your commitment there.

    “Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord, your labor is not in vain.” 1 Corinthians 15:58

    Press on!

  6. Your words remind me of the quote that is usually attributed to St. Francis of Assisi – “Preach the gospel. And if necessary, use words.”

    Thanks for being so open and honest about how you believe your life should be lived.

  7. Reading something like this is always a bit of a day brightener. I think something you said was very true, people look at atheletes (or anyone really famous for that matter) and see them in a very different way, maybe even a bit intimidated by them, not sure if it’s ok to talk to them. It’s great to show them that yeah, you are human, and in doing things to help others, to make them feel happy, and do your best to do the right thing is something I think everyone should strive to do. Be the best human being you can be, and God will see that.

Leave a Reply

