Home » Church » Beacons of Love

Beacons of Love

Like This!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Why do people who aren’t Christians hate us? They look at us and say “You’re just a bunch of Bible thumpers who are homophobic and you don’t love anybody.”

We’ve brought that on ourselves. We’ve got gay people out there pushing for gay rights and gay marriage, and we’ve got Christians saying “God hates you.” I get so angry because that’s not true. God loves you. Jesus walks with the gay community. I think He would say, “I love you just as I love someone who is not gay. I love you as a human being. I just love you.”

Do I personally think that Jesus would have approved of that lifestyle? No, I don’t think He would, because the Bible says He doesn’t. But that does not mean that He doesn’t love them. It does not mean that I can’t hang out and just say, “Hey, I differ in my opinion, but I love you as a human being.” And maybe if more of us did that, Christians wouldn’t be so hated everywhere we go.

I don’t think we’re showing the love of Jesus. I think we want to push our own agendas so much that we have quit loving people.

Do we love our neighbors as ourselves?  A buddy pointed out to me that we’ve built backyard fences, and we no longer build porches.  Is it because we don’t want to love our neighbor as ourselves? Here’s what our fences say: We want to be in our own area. Don’t look at me, don’t talk to me, don’t speak to me, give me my privacy.

Where are the front porches, where people come over and have lemonade and hang out and talk and enjoy each other and just be a community? We’ve gone so far away from that.

Churches need to quit going out fifteen miles from a city, buying a big chunk of land, building a humongous church, and then telling people, “Come to us.”  What is that?  That doesn’t make sense.

The Church needs to go to them.  We need to be with them.

That’s where Jesus is! That’s where I think He would walk. Jesus said all the time, “You call me a drunk and a glutton because I hang with sinners.  I hang in the bars, I hang in the slums, or I eat with people that aren’t your people.”

He said it to the religious leaders all the time. “You guys think you’re so great. I don’t even want to hang out with you people. I’d rather hang out with sinners.” Sinners loved Jesus!  But do sinners love Christians?

As Christians and as a church, we have to change.  We have got to start loving our neighbors. We have got to start setting the captives free. We have got to start feeding the poor.  We have got to do more things, man.

It’s all about community.  We need to be helping and providing.  We should be the leaders in our communities for the simple reason that we just straight, flat-out love our neighbors.  We could be beacons of love.

12 thoughts on “Beacons of Love

  1. Beautifully put!

    I especially loved the analogy about fences vs. porches. I believe that we need more porches and a heart that is welcoming to those who don’t know Him.

    God Bless you as you live for Him.

    Pitch well too!

    Pastor Scott

  2. Good words. I once heard that Paul Harvey said if “Jesus were alive today you’d probably find him down at The Salvation Army.” Most certainly, he’d be amoung the city’s most poor and oppressed. Wouldn’t that be great Jeremy, if that is were most churches would have a presence…amoung their city’s most poor, oppressed, forgotten and marginalized. But alas, churches do tend to keep a polished appearance in the suburbs. Don’t get me wrong. There are broken people in the suburbs who need Jesus. It’s just that God makes it very clear in scripture that His heart is with the poor and if you want to follow Him, follow His heart.

  3. I cannot tell you how much this article touched me and was perfect for me at this point on my life, Christians get such a bad rap for pointing the finger. I shared this article with all my friends in hopes if keeping me accountable to this life style. Thank you for your words, hope to see you on the field this Thursday (I’ll be there rooting you on)

  4. I think you’ve highlighted the big difference between Christians and Christian-conservatives. I think the Christians you are calling for live in moderate and left-leaning political spaces. So you’re in the right place here in SF! 🙂 Great to see you back pitching a flawless eighth tonight!

  5. On your thought about whether or not Jesus would approve, I don’t think that it would matter and that’s a message that people need to know. Jesus hung out with liars, cheaters, thieves, prostitutes and pretty much everyone else that the church runs away from. Those are the people he built his church on.

    I agree that our churches need to stop moving further away to lure Christians out of the places they should be serving. If you feel the draw away from something, maybe that’s the place you’re needed most!

  6. I think it’s important that we all remember this has nothing to do with politics. This is about loving people the way that Jesus loved others. It’s about the love of Jesus filling us up so full that we share it with others. We can alienate people very easily if we start putting them in political boxes. I’m not referring to Jeremy’s post as much as I am the comments that come after it. It’s about Jesus, and that should be everyone’s bottom line.

  7. I know, why do most Christians think they’re so good & religious when they’re just spreading hatred? And people need to stop referring to homosexuality as “that lifestyle”. It’s a SEXUALITY, NOT a lifestyle.

  8. Jeremy; I totally get what you are saying, and I respect that and respect you. However, we must not forget that in the same book of the bible that mentions men laying down with other men is well you know, it also forbids the eating of seafoods. I am a catholic, do I follow the misel 100 percent, no, I decern and try to understand. How I understand the gay community is that I decern that God is perfect, and a perfect God would not make such a mistake on such a grand scale. It really is not a choice, it is how they are born. Jeremy, no one would choose something that scorned them in this way. They go through a lot, hate, being beaten up, discriminated against and the list goes on and on. Who would choose that? Like I said I respect you and your opinion, I just feel that it is time that the human race move on and deal with more important issues like loving everyone as god loves us. Gays marrying in no way effect my marriage. You know what they had one heck of a party for you all in the castro distric when you won the ws. Continued success and gods speed.

    • Henry, wow, thanks for writing this! I’ve only seen one episode of that cartoon show “American Dad,” but it was so funny. The American Dad was desperate to give a speech at the RNC, but the only group willing to give him time at the podium was the Log Cabin Republicans. Dad tells his wife he has to have an affair with a gay man in order to advance his political career. He goes on a blind date, they talk, drink, and dance, and then wind up in bed together. And of course, nothing happens. And Dad is lying there saying, “Wow! This really isn’t a choice!” LOL!

Leave a Reply

