Home » Work » Compounding Success

Compounding Success

Like This!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Last night, the Giants won the division series against the Braves, and this weekend, we take on the Phillies for the National League Championship! If you follow my tweets, you’ll know that I spend a lot of time thinking about success, and this is a great time to share one of my biggest ideas about success with you.

I’m heavily involved in building orphanages and wells and doing some other stuff in Uganda right now. Sometimes people wonder what keeps me focused social justice.  They ask, “What makes you do all this for other people?” Well, I do it because I care about other people. I love them, and I love the God that created them. It’s the same God that created me. And this is what He did for me: He saved my life. So that’s why I want to help save others.

I’m focused on success for the same reason. It’s because I want to achieve something, not only for myself, but for those who do not have, those who do not have food, or clean water, or a mom and dad to love them, or even basic freedom.

I’d love to see that same approach to success take root in the world on a social scale. Right now, we’re not thinking that way. Go find any person at random right now, anywhere you like, behind a desk or on a ball field or in a doctor’s office or whatever. Ask them if they get up in the morning and set a goal to achieve something just so that they can help provide for someone who does not have. I’ll bet at least 70% of the people are going to say, no, I don’t think like that when I set goals.

But what if we approach kids with that idea? We see it happen with Free2Play and Feed the Hunger. In these organizations, we see kids setting goals to achieve something just so they can help another kid. They say, “I guarantee you I can come up with 15 cents to feed a kid.” Or they say, “I guarantee you I can come up with 5 cents to help with Not For Sale.” It’s feasible for a 12 year-old kid or a 10 year-old kid to say, “I can do chores, or something, but I’ll raise a buck. I’ll get a dollar from somewhere.” And they do it, too. They see this as a priority.

When we involve kids in projects like this, we create kids who will always think that way. We’re setting something in motion, so we’ll see awesome things happening. These kids will live their entire lives according to this new scenario, this idea that their success is for them and for somebody else. They’ll dream to be the best at what they do. They’ll work to become leaders at their jobs and in their communities.

They’ll realize they can dream big, too. They’ll set a goal like: “I want to be the president of my company so that I can make the rules, and one of my rules will be that a portion of my company’s funds are going to build wells.” Or they’ll set a goal to be a successful entrepreneur so that they can take their company and go help people who need help with water or food. Or they’ll find a way to put an end to slave labor in their industry.

And showing up to help a person or a community that does not have is holy, man, it really is. It compounds exponentially. Those people know how they were helped, and they will want to do the same thing. They’ll know someone else helped provide for them, someone who did it by setting goals, dreaming dreams, and becoming somebody great. Now those people who have been helped will do the same thing. They will set goals, and dream dreams, and become somebody great. They’ll achieve something, not only for themselves, but for others.

I really hope we can all learn to think this way. If people thought about how to help others, they would excel in their jobs and in life. They would work harder because they’d want to be more successful, knowing that their success can actually help. This is the real “best life now” scenario. This is the key to success!

5 thoughts on “Compounding Success

  1. Great word Jeremy. I know how excited you are to win another NLC, pitch in the World Series again and this time win it. But in the midst of your very blessed situation you are still focused on the issues that matter most — desiring, giving, working and praying that God gets God’s way now on earth as in heaven. Bless you and Larisa for all you do to come alongside the least of these – God’s children whom most of the world has forgotten. Now, as much as I love Mike Sweeney… go strike him out. Sween dawg can hit a Homerun off someone else but you show our friend no mercy. Peace.

  2. Hey Jeremy, I continue to be amazed at your grounded-ness. What’s your relationship with the team like? Have you changed lives on the field as you do with your friends? Just wondering. I like what I read today because I have contemplated this SAME topic with a new business venture I’ve started. I started feeling the fear of failure. That is not a normal fear for me. I started thinking about what success looked like for me. An amount of money? No. An achieved goal? Somewhat. But really, I realized that if I created this business based on other people’s needs, then anything would be a success. So, that’s what I have done. I have committed to giving away all profits this month to a little girl, whom we sponser in Kampala, Uganda, and her mother, to help with any financial things they may need. I can’t wait to see where God takes me! If I could just feed someone’s soul, that’s succcess. 🙂 Keep up the good work, Jeremy. Good luck! We’re thinking about you and your new addition to the family!

  3. Truly the best path to success is to pray and start small with what we know we can do. I feel like often great ideas don’t come to fruition because people don’t just start by doing the concrete things they know they can accomplish. The tangibility of God’s gifts needs to be pushed more in the Church. Thanks for this reminder, Jeremy.

  4. Jeremy, if you ever need a community to worship with while you’re in SF, look us up at San Francisco Lighthouse. You’re always welcome. Enjoying your blog today… you have been wrecked by love, my friend!

    sflighthouse.com

Leave a Reply

